R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2010, 01:50 AM   #9841
Tech Elite
 
Toh WL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Setapak
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

i also tried usin the 3m tape..it does holds. but it get loosen as time goes by. this is due to dust n dirt.
Toh WL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:16 AM   #9842
Tech Initiate
 
Murdock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry if there is a post regarding this topic. Anyone tried any of the clone versions of this chassis?
__________________
★ MST: MS-01D Pro
★ Tamiya: TA05VDF, Gold TA05VDF, DF03RA
★ HPI-HB: Pro-D, TC-FD, TCX, Cyclone S
★ Team Magic: E4FS ★ Academy: STR-4 Pro II
★ Yokomo: Hyper SSG DRB, BDM, SD SSG, DP Type B
Murdock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:10 AM   #9843
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
It's small, is it an issue or can you put it closer to the center line and have enough room? Same thing was done on a TC4 was it not? Yeah they used fans and didn't work well. Would be nice to see the holes for lipos on both sides for equal side to side flex instead.
The Tekin RS on the LiPo chassis works fine, even with the vent cut outs.

This car has been used to win the last 2 world championships, the last one with the LiPo chassis. I think it'll be fine for VTA.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:39 AM   #9844
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default I asked if I could taped down a Tekin RS not if it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The Tekin RS on the LiPo chassis works fine, even with the vent cut outs.

This car has been used to win the last 2 world championships, the last one with the LiPo chassis. I think it'll be fine for VTA.
was ok for VTA.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:23 AM   #9845
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
was ok for VTA.
Okay, sorry, you're not always exactly easy to understand. Yes, there's plenty of room to tape down a Tekin, with either the standard chassis or LiPo. Use good tape. The TOP stuff seems to be a great choice. The grey 3M works well too.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:02 PM   #9846
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

just get the air duct piece if you're that worried

I ran pulled out my original 416 for a run on carpet this weekend, with the kit chassis and WE top deck man did it rotate better than the X! I hope with the 417 they've moved the diff back to the original position, the car was awesome to drive
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 01:03 AM   #9847
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Expirenced 416 owners....question.

hey guys never owned a Tamiya, but considering the 417. I read that the 416 tweaks easy and I wondered if it was prone to it because of the bulkhead design? Seems you have more chassis flex setting with the 416 because of the extra screws and they are spread out further across the bulkhead. If anyone has expirence with T3 and 416 could you expain if one is less prone to tweak than the another? Any advice on pros cons of each?

Also anyone know if the 417 will also have that large cut out on the chassis and if the servo will hang off it? Seems it would defeat having the narrow chassis. The new HPI car, it's servo does not. Just wondered. Thanks

Last edited by RCknight; 10-05-2010 at 05:47 AM.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 01:31 AM   #9848
Tech Regular
 
HI_808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 359
Default

With the 416 it's almost easy to forget that you can tweak your chassis when you compare it to older generations of cars.

I am quite sure that the servo will not hang off the side of the 417.
HI_808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:00 AM   #9849
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
hey guys never owned a Tamiya, but considering the 417. I read that the 416 tweaks easy and I wondered if it was prone to it because of the bulkhead design? Seems you have more chassis flex setting with the 416 because of the extra screws and they are spread out further across the bulkhead. If anyone has expirence with T3 and 416 could you expain if one is less prone to tweak than the another? Any advice on pros cons of each?
You heard wrong, the Tamiya doesn't tweak any easier than anything else
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:01 AM   #9850
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,429
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

There are plenty of pics on the 417 thread that shows that the servo will "hang off" the chassis. It is not an issue as it has won multiple world championships this way... The TCX chassis is wider which is why the servo doesn't hang off.
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO

Last edited by veecee; 10-05-2010 at 06:07 AM.
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:45 AM   #9851
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Got it...

thanks.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:44 PM   #9852
Tech Elite
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,109
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tron
I've searched as best as I possibly can...but I can't find an answer. If I purchase the Tamiya Porsche GT3 body will it fit a TRF416? I'd like to run a realistic Porsche body. Thanks in advance, Brett __________________ Brett H - A Main Wannabe Caster EX-1.5r, Jammin SCRT10, HPI Blitz, Revo Platinum.

Thats the exact body I presently have on my 416WE.

Front bumper mount holes line up. Rear you will have to make new holes


Wheelbase, I moved rear wheels ever so slightly forward to make 210 wheel base.

Rear wheels are the hard part. You need +6 mm offset to make it look scale. Most +6 mm offset rims look ghetto lol. The stock mesh wheels that came with the kit are +2 mm offset and you can add some axle spacers, but then your lock nut won't catch, unless you use the cerated backed lock nuts.
Raman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:32 PM   #9853
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Can someone help me with the part number for the universal rebuild kit? I can't seem to find it
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:51 PM   #9854
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,429
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Have a pack right in front of me mate - 53500!
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 06:10 PM   #9855
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

use shoe goo to stick down the servo, wont be a problem anymore....
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net