R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2009, 07:07 AM   #5836
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penmark67 View Post
Phil and Craig you are both very welcome anytime , plus I live 10mins from the track. So...........

Mark M
cool ,

i also live 10 mins from my local track

Quote:
Originally Posted by penmark67 View Post
i guess thats 24hrs 10mins for Phil.
yeah i guess it is about that
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:16 AM   #5837
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Very nice track design! Too bad I burn in the sun like an albino armadillo.
__________________
Pro-Line Racing , Boca Bearings , Competition Heat.
Team Durango DEX210, DEX410V3, DESC410R, DNX408
Futaba FAAST 2.4 4PkS, LRP, Tekin, Xcellorin
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 12:31 PM   #5838
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Are any of you State side 416 guys going to Vegas? Do you think there will be any Tamiya parts there?
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:37 PM   #5839
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Are any of you State side 416 guys going to Vegas? Do you think there will be any Tamiya parts there?
If your refering to the IIC, then yes there is always Tamiya parts there. I think SpeedtechRC sets up a booth there with lots of Tamiya parts...

If your just refering to Vegas in jeneral, then no there are no Tamiya parts in town...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 04:12 PM   #5840
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,235
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Are any of you State side 416 guys going to Vegas? Do you think there will be any Tamiya parts there?
I'm not from the us, so can't really comment, but the IIC might be on the cards for me in 2010.....
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:10 PM   #5841
Tech Addict
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 12 (88%+)
Default

Does anybody have any experience with running an EVO 5 MS in 13.5? Do the 13.5 motors create too much torque-steer with this particular chassis?
__________________
Team Tamiya/TRF - Team KO PROPO - NorCal Hobbies
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:16 PM   #5842
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Does anybody have any experience with running an EVO 5 MS in 13.5? Do the 13.5 motors create too much torque-steer with this particular chassis?
No torque steer. All is good.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:13 PM   #5843
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Does anybody have any experience with running an EVO 5 MS in 13.5? Do the 13.5 motors create too much torque-steer with this particular chassis?
My friend did I think. You can ask him. Ask this question again in th Evo V thread. I'm sure he'll pop in. He currently races it in 17.5 and he's ballistically fast with it. His name is Timmie. He tried SP 4.0 in it. But mod is too much for the car. I think he's gonna run 13.5/GT1 in Maryland TCS this month. I doubt I'll be going. I sold my 416. But I do have a MRE I can run. We'll see. I'll let him know you are asking about it.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Yokomo YZ-2 DT/CA
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:50 AM   #5844
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
If your refering to the IIC, then yes there is always Tamiya parts there. I think SpeedtechRC sets up a booth there with lots of Tamiya parts...

If your just refering to Vegas in jeneral, then no there are no Tamiya parts in town...
Yes the IIC, thanks. Do you know if they carry a good supply of suspension bridges?

Too bad Ed, would have liked to meet up with you for some tech talk.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:08 PM   #5845
Tech Addict
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 12 (88%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Yes the IIC, thanks. Do you know if they carry a good supply of suspension bridges?

Too bad Ed, would have liked to meet up with you for some tech talk.
Personally, if I was making the trek to race in Vegas I would make sure that I would have all the spare parts... especially suspension blocks... that I would need.

It just wouldn't make that much sense to me to travel all that way and find out that I don't have/can't buy a "D" block anywhere.
__________________
Team Tamiya/TRF - Team KO PROPO - NorCal Hobbies
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 08:47 AM   #5846
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StickyFingaz View Post
Personally, if I was making the trek to race in Vegas I would make sure that I would have all the spare parts... especially suspension blocks... that I would need.

It just wouldn't make that much sense to me to travel all that way and find out that I don't have/can't buy a "D" block anywhere.
Yup, I know what your saying. Bad part is I could use 3 suspension bridges and the only place I can get them wants 25 bucks to ship them, if I needed a bunch of other parts I could justify it, but 25 for three bridges.....just don't sound right. Thats why I was asking if I could arrange with someone to snag me those, I could settle up with them at the IIC, besides it nice to know who else is using this ride to maybe bounce some setup ideas back and forth.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 10:16 AM   #5847
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If you contact eBay seller Tamiyaland directly, he sometimes sells his parts with free shipping. He just sends you a paypal invoice. I think his blocks cost $10 each. Plus his postage is the fastest I've seen out of Hong-Kong...

Otherwise I don't mind you having parts shipped to me here in Vegas. I can meet you pretty much any day before iic...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 10:24 AM   #5848
Tech Addict
 
StickyFingaz's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 12 (88%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
If you contact eBay seller Tamiyaland directly, he sometimes sells his parts with free shipping. He just sends you a paypal invoice. I think his blocks cost $10 each. Plus his postage is the fastest I've seen out of Hong-Kong...

Otherwise I don't mind you having parts shipped to me here in Vegas. I can meet you pretty much any day before iic...
Problem solved!

FYI, I'm a big fan of Tamiyaland on eBay too. That guy has been pretty clutch for me a couple times this season. About a week of shipping time from HK!

__________________
Team Tamiya/TRF - Team KO PROPO - NorCal Hobbies
StickyFingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 02:58 AM   #5849
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,303
Default

Wondering if someone can help me with a problem I've been trying to solve for the last couple weeks.

My 416 wants to on-throttle oversteer only on right turns. It acts normal on left turns. I tried to find out what was going on by tearing down the entire car piece by piece and rebuild it from step one of the instructions. Measured everything precisely, and made sure all bearings worked fine. Balanced the car left to right and redid the suspension on the tweak board. Alignment came out ok, and wheels can turn lock to lock. Used the Groskamp setting... and ... it still does the same thing. My friends cannot figure it out either. On tight right turns, their cars can go out full throttle, but I have to use half throttle

What's going on? Please help.

Last edited by redbones; 07-11-2009 at 03:09 AM.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:18 AM   #5850
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

can you put your set up on , people can advise from there

have you tried to swap your shocks left to right ?? also swap the tyres ,

just see if that changes any thing on the car
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net