R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2008, 04:34 AM   #3121
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low_E View Post
About Ackermann, what are the advantages of putting more ackermann (like 5mm shims in stead of the manual-3mm)

I've heard people tell me you needed little ackermann, others tell me 5mm is the way to go on the 416. Confusing.


**************
[edit]

Did some research on the net.
found some articles ...
amongst those:

source: http://www.smithees-racetech.com.au/ackerman.html



...

now reading these and trying to understand them
On the 416, more ackerman spacers tend to make the car steer more aggressively.
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 05:04 AM   #3122
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 356
Send a message via MSN to Low_E
Default

do you have more details about these teflon coated balls? I have never seen such ball ends.

ABout added steering on mid and exit coners ... well it is at the exit of the corners that i wanted to loose some steering, and yet I was driving with only 3mm ackermann-shims.
Might try different setup all together.
__________________
thou shall think twice or trice before hitting thee SEND-button
Low_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 01:25 PM   #3123
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low_E View Post
do you have more details about these teflon coated balls? I have never seen such ball ends.
I think he may be talking about the Tamiya 5mm Flourine coated aluminum ball nuts. It's just your typical blue ball nut except they are grey and advertised as being fluorine coated. Same color as the fluorine coated damper cylinders in the older TRF shocks...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 02:40 PM   #3124
Tech Apprentice
 
sakaguchinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gruendau, Germany
Posts: 84
Send a message via ICQ to sakaguchinet Send a message via AIM to sakaguchinet Send a message via Skype™ to sakaguchinet
Default

53598 Fluorine Coated 5mm Aluminum Ball Connector (10PCS.)
53599 Fluorine Coated 5mm Aluminum Ball Nut (10PCS.)
53600 Fluorine Coated 5mm Stabilizer End (4PCS.)
53601 Low Friction 5mm Adjuster (8 PCS.) - make sure to get the ones with 03-2008 production date or later, they nearly haven't loose

Anything else?
__________________
Best Regards,
Dai
http://www.rc-square.de (German and English manufacturers site)
http://www.sakaguchinetshop.com (Tamiya TRF related stuff)
sakaguchinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 10:00 PM   #3125
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakaguchinet View Post
53598 Fluorine Coated 5mm Aluminum Ball Connector (10PCS.)
53599 Fluorine Coated 5mm Aluminum Ball Nut (10PCS.)
53600 Fluorine Coated 5mm Stabilizer End (4PCS.)
53601 Low Friction 5mm Adjuster (8 PCS.) - make sure to get the ones with 03-2008 production date or later, they nearly haven't loose

Anything else?
53599 is the one. Like others said, it is the same as the blue ones. I just had extras of these lying around.
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:21 AM   #3126
Tech Adept
 
habis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 186
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i use all of the above give a much smoother ride. i reccomend it.
habis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:52 AM   #3127
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

So what's the final word on replacement outdrives for the spool? Do I have to buy a whole new spool, or is that part available somewhere?
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:54 AM   #3128
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
So what's the final word on replacement outdrives for the spool? Do I have to buy a whole new spool, or is that part available somewhere?
Jeff from SpeedtechRC.com should be able to help you out. hit him up.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 03:42 PM   #3129
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
So what's the final word on replacement outdrives for the spool? Do I have to buy a whole new spool, or is that part available somewhere?
They've been out for a while... http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...ducts_id=13177
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 04:26 PM   #3130
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bournemouth.UK
Posts: 59
Default car shut down

Hi guys, im hoping someone can shed some light on a problem im having recently with my car..i have a 416 but that aint the prob, the car is great it;s something wrong elsewhere..the car keeps shutting down only for about 2-3 secs then go again, maybe do a lap and shut down again, when i say shutdown this is no power ie no steering or thottle. im using a LRP sphere TC and also spektrum pro..before someone says thermel shut down on lrp it did it after one practice lap for a final, i drove the lap went to the grid, the buzzer went but the car didnt, few secs later it went, but few laps later died again..ive changed spektrum receiver to my spare 2.4 receiver and it still died.. my LRP for some reason flashes the blue mode light sometimes intermitantly could this be something to do with it...i cant make the car shut down off the track in my hands!! its really doing my head in now, all im left with is to try 40mgz again unless someone has experienced the same problem and can shed some light on the issue....please help
mark williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:02 PM   #3131
Tech Addict
 
auzzy_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MIA Awesome Mansion
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark williams View Post
Hi guys,ss someone has experienced the same problem and can shed some light on the issue....please help
I had this issue with an older car of mine. I was running a Futaba ESC and with a peaked battery we thought the overcurrent protection was engaging when full throttle was applied very quickly.

Does it happen when you slowly bring up the speed, or when you dump the throttle?

If it does not happen when applying slowly then it could be the overcurrent.

Ben
auzzy_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 09:59 PM   #3132
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark williams View Post
Hi guys, im hoping someone can shed some light on a problem im having recently with my car..i have a 416 but that aint the prob, the car is great it;s something wrong elsewhere..the car keeps shutting down only for about 2-3 secs then go again, maybe do a lap and shut down again, when i say shutdown this is no power ie no steering or thottle. im using a LRP sphere TC and also spektrum pro..before someone says thermel shut down on lrp it did it after one practice lap for a final, i drove the lap went to the grid, the buzzer went but the car didnt, few secs later it went, but few laps later died again..ive changed spektrum receiver to my spare 2.4 receiver and it still died.. my LRP for some reason flashes the blue mode light sometimes intermitantly could this be something to do with it...i cant make the car shut down off the track in my hands!! its really doing my head in now, all im left with is to try 40mgz again unless someone has experienced the same problem and can shed some light on the issue....please help

Try a capacitor on the reciever.
I have about 6 spektrum recievers and several did the same thing, as soon as I put a cap on them no problem.
Most are ok some for whatever reason do this, can't explain why.

The spektrum is re finding itself it may be more apparent under load taking voltage from the reciever try a capacitor first.

What lipo trays are being used in the 416 does anyone have a link to buy one.

Last edited by bjspinner; 10-31-2008 at 10:34 PM.
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 03:20 AM   #3133
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bournemouth.UK
Posts: 59
Default

ok the spektrum cap is an easy try i will give it a go..thankyou

however the over current reply, i wouldnt always say it is under load when it happens, yes off the line it would have been but it didnt even try and move, it was as if the battery had been unplugged.......however if it is the over current sitiuation can this be resolved or is it that the speedo is up the swanny!!!!

i have discovered from a post elsewhere in the rctech forums the blue led flashing was due to me being too close to the car with the tranny, so the blue led doesnt seem to be any part of the problem... im really hoping its not my speedo, when ive used all my spektrum gear in my tamiya mini there seems to be no fault...so it has to be speedo or spektrum shutting down with the brushless system on board..anymore replies and help gratefully received as it destroying my racing at the moment when the car is working well...

many thanks in advance
mark williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 11:43 AM   #3134
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark williams View Post
ok the spektrum cap is an easy try i will give it a go..thankyou

however the over current reply, i wouldnt always say it is under load when it happens, yes off the line it would have been but it didnt even try and move, it was as if the battery had been unplugged.......however if it is the over current sitiuation can this be resolved or is it that the speedo is up the swanny!!!!

i have discovered from a post elsewhere in the rctech forums the blue led flashing was due to me being too close to the car with the tranny, so the blue led doesnt seem to be any part of the problem... im really hoping its not my speedo, when ive used all my spektrum gear in my tamiya mini there seems to be no fault...so it has to be speedo or spektrum shutting down with the brushless system on board..anymore replies and help gratefully received as it destroying my racing at the moment when the car is working well...

many thanks in advance
It also sounds to me like the system is trying to draw more current than your battery can supply, so the BEC may not be able to keep the electronics running under the heaviest loads. A "Stutter Stopper" capacitor should help if this is the case, but that also depends on how much current draw you have....What motor & battery are you running? And with all that, you still can't rule out the ESC, maybe its BEC just isn't strong enough to keep up with the demand, or maybe it's developed a fault of some kind....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 01:27 PM   #3135
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bournemouth.UK
Posts: 59
Default

hi mate, im using my lrp sphere tc spec with the lrp vector x11 10.5 motor so i would hope its not drawing too much current...orion 3800 lipo in use also..
mark williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net