R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2008, 12:08 PM   #2521
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

old old type 414
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 12:44 PM   #2522
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

On Victor's Reedy Race setup, the droop is expressed as #5 & #6. What would that equate to if you measure droop as uptravel, or over ride height?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 01:13 PM   #2523
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stein Tumert View Post
Serpent S400...?


...
Got it in one. It's a serpent S400 3.0 block. Works out the same width as a Tamiya 1C, and is all ready to be flipped Just needs 4mm of spacers rather than the 3 of the 416/TB03 blocks.

Just got back from the national at west london, bit knackered now, so I'll post an update/report tomorrow at some point. sufice to say the car was very good, just need to learn to drive mod better now

Cheers
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #2524
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
On Victor's Reedy Race setup, the droop is expressed as #5 & #6. What would that equate to if you measure droop as uptravel, or over ride height?
Hi Syn,

Not entirely sure, as I've never measured it with that method. As I'm sure your aware, thoose numbers are measured of a droop gauge. I'll try and get soem measurements on that for you at some point, my car currently has thoose droop settings on.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 03:58 PM   #2525
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Got it in one. It's a serpent S400 3.0 block. Works out the same width as a Tamiya 1C, and is all ready to be flipped Just needs 4mm of spacers rather than the 3 of the 416/TB03 blocks.
so can you flip the 415 blocks?
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 03:39 AM   #2526
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

no, 416 blocks are flipable (is this even a word?? sounded like flipper)

You can always modify the old block so they can be flipped. Just machine a flat spot on the to of the block where the screw extends. then shim that side and use it up side down...

or u can get the bridge type blocks for the 415...
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:30 AM   #2527
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toughbeard View Post
no, 416 blocks are flipable (is this even a word?? sounded like flipper)

You can always modify the old block so they can be flipped. Just machine a flat spot on the to of the block where the screw extends. then shim that side and use it up side down...

or u can get the bridge type blocks for the 415...
hrm I think I must have the bridge blocks. There's nothing stopping me from flipping the ones I have, but they are 5mm high when measured bottom to top of the flat section as opposed to the 7mm of the 416 blocks that came in the kit. I put 5mm total in spacers and the arms look flat to me so I guess thats the answer

cheers
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 12:07 PM   #2528
Tech Addict
 
Hoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

rcmarket, when will the battery brace be available?
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X-tamiyatrf416thickchassis-2.jpg  
Hoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 05:34 PM   #2529
Tech Elite
 
POUNDITRACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Looking for a blank set-up sheet
__________________
Pound It Paints - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/270707-pound-paints-raymond-ramirez.html
RC Reveled - http://www.teamrcr.net
POUNDITRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 06:47 PM   #2530
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by POUNDITRACING View Post
Looking for a blank set-up sheet
Ray, how was your car at the Speedworld Challenge? here's a blank set up sheet from Ed's website. Also sent you a paypal payment for that SICK SICK paint job you gave me. man that thing looks sweet. i dont want to post pix because i dont want people copying it.

Blank 416 set up sheet:
http://www.thard.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=11
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:52 PM   #2531
Tech Elite
 
POUNDITRACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
Ray, how was your car at the Speedworld Challenge? here's a blank set up sheet from Ed's website. Also sent you a paypal payment for that SICK SICK paint job you gave me. man that thing looks sweet. i dont want to post pix because i dont want people copying it.

Blank 416 set up sheet:
http://www.thard.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=11
Thanks for the good words. Let me know for next time. I got some sweet ideas. Thanks for the set-up sheet.

Wow, is all I can say about the weekend at speedworld. Never broken 3 servos in one weekend. Car was good but learning a new track is hard in 4 practice runs.
__________________
Pound It Paints - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/270707-pound-paints-raymond-ramirez.html
RC Reveled - http://www.teamrcr.net
POUNDITRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:56 PM   #2532
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,137
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoggy View Post
rcmarket, when will the battery brace be available?
We waitting this shipment !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:11 PM   #2533
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 418
Default

Hy there!

I have a question about the new 1050 uprights and knuckles from the 416.

Work the front steering knuckles also with the old c-hubs?
If yes what is the benefit of the new one?
Have they less slop? Because the look more fragile then the old "bullet proof" ones.

The castor is also 4 i think or?

Greetings Blueman
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
TT01, F104, TRF415MSXXMRE07, TB Evo5 Exoten, TB Evo6, TRF417v7, TRF 418........
Blueman Austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 12:16 AM   #2534
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueman Austria View Post
Hy there!

I have a question about the new 1050 uprights and knuckles from the 416.

Work the front steering knuckles also with the old c-hubs?
If yes what is the benefit of the new one?
Have they less slop? Because the look more fragile then the old "bullet proof" ones.

The castor is also 4 i think or?

Greetings Blueman
I believe you can use the original C-hub, and hardware. However, iirc, you need to add 1mm under the outer ball joint to get the link in the same place. The difference between the two types is that the new one has a different method for mounting the collars (of which there are two now), whereby the they should never have the opportunity to fall out, even if you loose the screw!
I've also been told about the option to flip one of the collars under the front hub to help lower the hub... which should give more steering, same as using the old HPI hubs with the 415 c-hubs.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 01:49 AM   #2535
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,303
Default

I think the 44mm steel swing shafts from tamiya are discontinued since no one carries them. Even the hotbodies version is phased out of existence too.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net