R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2008, 10:47 AM   #1726
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Did Tamiya finally release proper toe blocks for the 416, or are we still using 415 blocks? I thought I saw some new ones at RC MARKET.

Where's the spool? I've got some outdoor racing to do!
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 01:53 PM   #1727
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,138
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Did Tamiya finally release proper toe blocks for the 416, or are we still using 415 blocks? I thought I saw some new ones at RC MARKET.

Where's the spool? I've got some outdoor racing to do!
The TRF416 Spool , will later release !
can't in APR onsale !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 04:19 PM   #1728
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Default

wow, just - 10 to -40 exponential...
im running -90to -100 all the times!! sometimes i play with dual rate to about 75% but thats it. i totally like the car on straights having -90% exp. makes it really smooth and controllable... try it out sometimes, you think you have less steering but try the back straight now!
Markiempje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 07:13 PM   #1729
Tech Regular
 
Fastforward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO (USA)
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default handling

I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
Fastforward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 08:39 PM   #1730
Tech Master
 
CanyonCarverR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

JimmyMac, Can I get a little info on those metal peices that fit down in the battery slots?
What are they made of, lead, stainless?
Where did you get them?
I've been looking for some 3mm lead to do something similar to what you did.
Thx,
Greg
CanyonCarverR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:43 PM   #1731
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanyonCarverR1 View Post
JimmyMac, Can I get a little info on those metal peices that fit down in the battery slots?
What are they made of, lead, stainless?
Where did you get them?
I've been looking for some 3mm lead to do something similar to what you did.
Thx,
Greg
Well the base plate is stainless steel. It is made by Verndog on these forums. Look up his thread PPD something something. Or visit his website at http://www.ppdbillet.com/RC_accessories.html

The layer on top of the stainless plate is lead. It is from this guy. http://www.teamfusionracing.blogspot.com/
I'm using the #4 piece in the picture above. It is stuck together with carpet tape that I got from Target. Works great. I just ordered another PPD stainless plate to toss on my #2 lead weight. Gonna see which one gives me better balance.

Hope those links help out for whatever project you have going.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Yokomo YZ-2 DT/CA
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:53 PM   #1732
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 10
Default

Is the problem on high speed corners???
If so remember - the car body is an important tuning tool
Move the body slightly forward will increase high speed stearing also trimming a little ( 1mm increments) off the rear of the wing and moving it forward also helps with high speed on power stearing....

Just a few thoughts - use it or lose it
__________________
_____________________________________________
I Do it......... Because-I-Can.
___________________________________________
Because-I-Can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 03:45 AM   #1733
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markiempje View Post
wow, just - 10 to -40 exponential...
im running -90to -100 all the times!! sometimes i play with dual rate to about 75% but thats it. i totally like the car on straights having -90% exp. makes it really smooth and controllable... try it out sometimes, you think you have less steering but try the back straight now!
That sounds way too much too me. I tend to play between -10 - 20% on my Esprit3.
I tend to be able to feel when I'm running too much expo, as I much prefer a linear feel to how the steering works, than having the "nothing, nothing, lots" feel that a large amount of expo gives.
One other thing I don't like about running lots of expo is that you can't get the response back in the front end, which makes quick switchbacks difficult to drive.

Still each to their own, as long as it works well for you

Cheers
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 03:51 AM   #1734
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
A few things to try, in order of what I would try first.

2mm under the outer rear link
inner most hole on the inner camber link (make the link as long as possible)
Harder front roll bar
Softer rear roll bar
lay rear shock in one hole
More rear toe in
Softer rear shock oil
less rear axle spacers

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |

Last edited by TryHard; 03-27-2008 at 07:05 AM.
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:44 AM   #1735
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
I am also experiancing the off throttle oversteer issue. It is not tweak. I turned down the steering travel (dual rate) and that helped. maybe I need more expo, I didn't think of that.

I am experiancing this entering a chicane. If I slow down before I get there it is not a problem. It is just being off throttle and the time you enter the chicane. I will try less rear droop but I think I have tried that before.

I am using 3mm shim under both ends of the rear link and .5mm shims under the pivot blocks in the rear. I am running a diff in the front on medium grip carpet

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

BBB
You're off power and it oversteers. Assuming mechanically everything is fine with your car, the rear becoming loose is due to the weight loading the front end which makes the front end roll causing the front tires to grip more than the rear tires. This means the front end is soft. One at a time, try moving front upper shock mount out one hole, raise the front roll center by adding a shim under the blocks or try a little heavier oil up front to keep the car from rolling too much off power.

Or you can change your driving style. I don't know where the chicane is located or how big a chicane it is, but you shouldn't be off power going through the chicane. You should decelerate in a straight line before the chicane and then power through the chicane.
Stugots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:06 AM   #1736
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Does Tamiya plan to release all the different toe blocks for the 416, or should I plan on picking up the 415 style and just using those? It seems like quite a while to wait for something so critical.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:58 AM   #1737
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Does Tamiya plan to release all the different toe blocks for the 416, or should I plan on picking up the 415 style and just using those? It seems like quite a while to wait for something so critical.
To be honest, the only one you really seem to need is a D, as that is easily flipable. Oherwise the 415 ones work fine

It does seem like you can sporadicly pick up the 416 blocks. I have some on back order with RC Market at the moment, should be back in, in a few weeks.

It is a bit odd though, as you would have thought that they would bring them out sooner, but oh well
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:18 AM   #1738
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,138
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
To be honest, the only one you really seem to need is a D, as that is easily flipable. Oherwise the 415 ones work fine

It does seem like you can sporadicly pick up the 416 blocks. I have some on back order with RC Market at the moment, should be back in, in a few weeks.

It is a bit odd though, as you would have thought that they would bring them out sooner, but oh well
What is your Order no. ?
please pm with me !
we not have this item back order !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:55 AM   #1739
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
What is your Order no. ?
please pm with me !
we not have this item back order !
YGPM
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:30 PM   #1740
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,138
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
YGPM
U too !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TRF416 sim600 Malaysian R/C Racers 15 01-09-2010 11:08 AM
TRF416 speedart Electric On-Road 26 06-27-2007 04:28 AM
new joke cyber3d Chat Lounge 5 08-02-2006 02:52 PM
another joke, OH no! corvettecrazy Chat Lounge 0 01-10-2004 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net