R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #1876
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
I might have to get the 3Racing battery mount set, but not sure if when mounted they provide enough space for a lipo. Any one have any experience with that part?
If that's the 3Racing ball pivot mounts then it's unlikely to have enough clearance around the pivots.

If you are using a full size lipo in there you will find the battery holders won't fit on the ends. A standard lipo just goes through the standard battery mounts and is wedged in pretty tight. For mine, one strip of fibreglass tape to stop it sliding out does the job of holding it in place.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya F103 Forum-f103.jpg  
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:55 PM   #1877
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,526
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
If that's the 3Racing ball pivot mounts then it's unlikely to have enough clearance around the pivots.

If you are using a full size lipo in there you will find the battery holders won't fit on the ends. A standard lipo just goes through the standard battery mounts and is wedged in pretty tight. For mine, one strip of fibreglass tape to stop it sliding out does the job of holding it in place.
I give. Pulling out the pivot set and putting in the o-ring set.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:23 PM   #1878
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,107
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Said it before, use the O-ring at the front and the pivot ball at the rear and a shorty lipo will slip in.
Secure it with fiber tape and your good to go


regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:20 AM   #1879
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,526
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

As the car is no longer TCS compliant, I did some sanding on the base of the battery mount. I took off just enough material to make the O-ring base flat with the rest of the mount. No more battery fitment problem. I should be able to put the pivot mount back on the rear side with little or no sanding to try it. The M body with the F104 front wing lines up exactly with no extra or elongated holes.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".

Last edited by liljohn1064; 01-28-2013 at 10:51 AM.
liljohn1064 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:08 AM   #1880
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,716
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Is there a way to get the f104 width wheels to fit?
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:42 AM   #1881
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
Is there a way to get the f104 width wheels to fit?
F104 wheels bolt straight on, there's no problem with wheel fitment.

The problem is the rear wheels are narrower than F103 wheels. To bring the wheels into line again you need to fit the F104 front end on the F103. If you also have the old style rear pod with fixed ride height, you also want to swap out the pod for an F104 one as well as the tyres are a bit larger. I have seen F103s with F104 tyres and no chassis changes and they still run fine, just a different chassis balance and looks a little odd.

Unless you have to use specific F104 tyres like the TCS ones there are F103 size alternatives readily available.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:47 AM   #1882
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

F104 wheels do fit the F103, but the front width would be 200mm and the rear width would be 185mm.
I'm using F104 front wheels on my F104ver.II converted to a wide version, i'm doing this because you can use the wheels much longer then F103 wheels/tires.
The F104 front wheels are bigger then F103 front wheels, meaning you are able to use the front wheels with about 3mm foam tire on it and still have plenty of ride height.
Hope this info helps.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:50 AM   #1883
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,526
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
Is there a way to get the f104 width wheels to fit?
Use F104 bearings.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:51 AM   #1884
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,716
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

It's a f103 15th anniversary. so it has an adjustable pod/etc.

do you still put the thrust bearing in the wheel with f104 wheels?
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:55 AM   #1885
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,526
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
It's a f103 15th anniversary. so it has an adjustable pod/etc.

do you still put the thrust bearing in the wheel with f104 wheels?
Yes sir, they still stack in the same order. Get the 3Racing rear pod and you'll be very happy with it.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".

Last edited by liljohn1064; 01-28-2013 at 11:25 AM.
liljohn1064 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:07 PM   #1886
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,716
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

How much would a set of f103 foam wheels/tires be worth?

I have 1 pair of rears and 3 pairs of fronts...
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:55 PM   #1887
Tech Regular
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Well I have my new to me bargain F103. Can any of you guys point out any parts I should put on the immediate buy list, besides tires lol. Ok so I can't post pics from my phone but can post them in my profile albums. Do there is a body on and body off pick in my profile albums. So if any of you would mind taking a look and let me know I would gladly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,
Jason
__________________
Tamiya TB-02, Tamiya M-05 V2 Pro, Tamiya TA-05, Tamiya F103,

Last edited by fresnojay; 02-01-2013 at 09:26 PM.
fresnojay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:31 AM   #1888
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresnojay View Post
Well I have my new to me bargain F103. Can any of you guys point out any parts I should put on the immediate buy list, besides tires lol. Ok so I can't post pics from my phone but can post them in my profile albums. Do there is a body on and body off pick in my profile albums. So if any of you would mind taking a look and let me know I would gladly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,
Jason
Depends on what you want to do with it. As long as it has bearings then there's nothing that's a must buy for it. An alloy motor mount will stop the motor moving in an accident if the motor is getting hot enough to soften the plastic mount, unlikely to be a problem with the kit motor, but that's it. A touring car shock instead of the spring holder and spring will give more control on bumpy surfaces, but also makes it easier to get the setup wrong.

The car you have is an F103L, the long wheelbase Indycar chassis. This means other f1 bodies won't fit on the car, but it can be converted to a standard F103 by replacing just the chassis plate and removing the front upper deck. The wheels were unique to this car and no longer available, but normal F103 wheels and tyres will fit straight on, it looks like it's already fitted with standard F103 size wheels.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:02 AM   #1889
Tech Regular
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Terry for the info. That answers the question i had as to which 103 I had. I will probably pick up the new chassis plate down the road. Already had a 3 racing shock on order for it too. That is awesome to hear that it is good to go. Less $ put into an already bargain car. It had rear bearings in it already and I added the fronts from some M05 bearings I had laying around.

Jason
__________________
Tamiya TB-02, Tamiya M-05 V2 Pro, Tamiya TA-05, Tamiya F103,
fresnojay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:45 AM   #1890
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,716
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

I'm interested in the wheels/tires if you plan on upgrading...


I've never seen F1 tires with tread...
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya F103 mild seven Australia For Sale/Trade 4 08-19-2008 11:19 PM
Tamiya F103 GT izzyracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-01-2007 03:51 PM
Tamiya F103 NIB Jspecrcr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-07-2006 01:30 PM
WTB: Tamiya buggy & Tamiya f103 stuff rays_tt Australia Wanted to Buy 2 04-20-2006 06:10 AM
Tamiya F103 or F103 Parts MM-F1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 04-24-2004 03:14 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net