R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-24-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Positives on the brushed side of things

I was just wondering if there are any positives to running brushed set-ups. It seems like all the hype is about brushless motors these days. I only came into the hobby a couple of years ago when brushless was really taking off so I am new to high performance brushed systems (i have used quite a few brushless systems, but hardly any nice brushed set-ups). I guess I am just looking for some positives about brushed because all the press seems so negative throughout forums.

I know many people say one of the major advantages is the lack of brushless maintenance, but doesn't that seem to take some of the sport away? I guess one could compare it to a nascar team that never needs to tweak/work on their engines.

thanks for input
wfdfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:09 PM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

In stock or 19t (that runs only brushed), the drivers that maintain and tune a motor well are rewarded with more horsepower. In any open mod class, I can't see there being any performance advantage with brushed motors.
gubbs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:14 PM   #3
Tech Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by wfdfiremedic View Post
I was just wondering if there are any positives to running brushed set-ups. It seems like all the hype is about brushless motors these days. I only came into the hobby a couple of years ago when brushless was really taking off so I am new to high performance brushed systems (i have used quite a few brushless systems, but hardly any nice brushed set-ups). I guess I am just looking for some positives about brushed because all the press seems so negative throughout forums.