R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2009, 04:03 PM   #6601
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

So something I am noticing, one of the larger issues running LiPo in the BMI chassis, is with the lack of any cell holder/adjuster in the car, the LiPo cell is quite likely to come into contact with the flex bars. This could cause the car to drive like its tweaked if its held up by the LiPo pack.

Not sure if the tape hold down method would address this, it just seems quite easy for the pack to come into contact with the bars. Any ideas?
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 04:14 PM   #6602
Tech Master
 
CREWMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,539
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I would try tapeing in the pack. Lately have have been tapeing in my nimh cells to remove any movement they might have. The oring does a good job, i just like the security of tape.

Plus the one time i hit the wall super hard i had the betteries in using only the oring and the battery cam up and took out my center shock bending the piston
__________________
D&K HOBBIES!!!!
Losi 8ight-T 2.0 Race Roller/Losi 350/JR 9100 Servos/Spektrum DX3R
BMI Copperhead 12/Thunder Power Lipo/Futaba Servo/Express 17.5/Spektrum DX3R
CREWMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 07:56 PM   #6603
Tech Regular
 
revo523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NOLA!
Posts: 466
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anybody has or knows someone selling a used DBrr?
__________________
Xray T2 009 EU Tekin RS PRO Novak 13.5 SMC 5200
Team Magic G4JS O.S.12 skyline 12plus
Spektrum DX3S

What came first the chicken or the egg?
revo523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 10:15 PM   #6604
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I'm running the CRC front end on mine but with the long upper A arm conversion...that runs a bit more at near $100. It works really well though like this. I found if I cut off the flange on the bottom of the arm and do some light sanding I can use the BMI front suspension spacers instead of the CRC ones too. I also switched to the CRC sensor wire which super flexy. I hear TQ has one now too. My car is still in the process of being converted to the DB12RR but I'll get some pics as soon as I get the electronics installed.
The CRC sensor wires are the TQ racing ones. TQ designed them.
Johnny Carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 11:42 PM   #6605
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Carey View Post
The CRC sensor wires are the TQ racing ones. TQ designed them.
The TQ wires are awesome. A must have for 1/12th.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 05:47 AM   #6606
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg View Post
So something I am noticing, one of the larger issues running LiPo in the BMI chassis, is with the lack of any cell holder/adjuster in the car, the LiPo cell is quite likely to come into contact with the flex bars. This could cause the car to drive like its tweaked if its held up by the LiPo pack.

Not sure if the tape hold down method would address this, it just seems quite easy for the pack to come into contact with the bars. Any ideas?
I made some aluminum tabs to position the battery front to back. I noticed the side to side movement, so I'm working some that will help with that too. If we're lucky, Jason has some of these batteries and is working on a set made out of brass. That way we can locate the battery and put on a little extra weight.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 06:51 AM   #6607
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

So these sensor wires for the motors... if you run Novak motors are there no options for this? (since the stiff wire is including already attached to the motor)
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:21 AM   #6608
Tech Addict
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg View Post
So these sensor wires for the motors... if you run Novak motors are there no options for this? (since the stiff wire is including already attached to the motor)
Yup no option when using a Novak motor

Funny thing is that Novak makes sensor harnesses for use with other Sensored Brushless motors yet don't make their own motors with sensor wires that plug into the motor
__________________
space for rent
Xtant3150c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 08:10 AM   #6609
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I wonder how hard it would be to just solder in a new flexible sensor wire... I havent pulled apart a Novak brushless before.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:26 PM   #6610
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,179
Default

Here's my newly rebuilt/converted DB12RR with the flexy sensor wire





I ran 14awg wire for the battery and 16awg for the motor but I'm not liking the 14awg...I'll probably switch it out for 16 on the battery too.
Now that I have my electronics right where I want them I'm thinking on shortening the servo wires for a custom fit.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:46 PM   #6611
Tech Addict
 
ffactory666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne , Australia
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Nice and clean InspGadgt , hard pressed to see the motor wires , you obviously ran them under the battery.
Did you strip the 16awg motor wires and shrink them ?
ffactory666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:49 PM   #6612
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,179
Default

Yes I did just like on the previous build of the car. I'm not really happy with the coiled wire but it is better for the wire then folding and zip tie or shrink wrapping them.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:58 PM   #6613
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Yes I did just like on the previous build of the car. I'm not really happy with the coiled wire but it is better for the wire then folding and zip tie or shrink wrapping them.
3 energ cells and 1 ib?? speed secret.

Carl looks good-
Johnny Carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 05:39 PM   #6614
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

How is the CRC front end working for you? I have one in the mail as we speak and really look forward to trying it. I'm gonna run the AE one more week to try some changes, then switch over.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:15 PM   #6615
Tech Fanatic
 
Dasmopar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 966
Send a message via AIM to Dasmopar
Default

I just tried using all my weak google skills and failed in locating a BMI online dealer. I went to the BMI web site but didn't see any prices?..?

HELP!!!
Dasmopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW IN BOX BMI DB12R bigb11 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 47 10-09-2008 04:36 PM
-BMI DB12R- joey R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-18-2008 09:25 PM
BMI DB12R wallstreet R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 02-15-2008 05:04 PM
BMI DB12R D-Bizzle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-21-2007 03:48 PM
WTB BMI DB12R chris moore R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 06-29-2007 06:25 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net