R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2003, 02:21 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Send a message via ICQ to j0n0
Default Fantom P2K2 Magnets dropping out ~!

alright i bought a fantom P2k2 in december last year and its been going great ever since, except the other day i noticed one of the magnets was moving up and down in the can, now it quite happliy sits there if i dont touch it but is it still ok to run this motor or not. Its not my only stock motor but i kind of prefer it over my monster stocks. Can it still be run or not, and also does anyone know what caused this ?

thanks alot for your help
j0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 04:17 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 87
Default

thats what p2k2s are notorious for, talk to tony p. on sunday jono he'll tell you how he fixed his!
alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 05:43 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Send a message via ICQ to j0n0
Default

thanks Sean i'll ask him tomorrow
j0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 09:19 AM   #4
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 403
Default

Where did you get that motor?
R C king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 02:19 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
j0n0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 201
Send a message via ICQ to j0n0
Default

from my LHS

anyway i asked Tony P

if anyone needs to know he told me to wash out the can with motor spray then put super glue between the can and the magnets and it should work fine.
j0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 02:23 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
TWiZTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 127
Default

make sure when your gluing the magnet back in you get the postion 100% the same as th other side or it can change the magnetic field
TWiZTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 02:24 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
defMondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 603
Default

FYI.

Clean the magnets and can very well with motor spray let it dry then liberaly coat the back of the magnet with super glue and the part of the can where the magnet will go then put the magnet in the can, just make sure it sits properly.

I also put a little bit of super glue around where the magnet joins the can, just a little beed here will do.

Let it dry very well before even trying to use it.

I did this to a motor I purchased about 2 years ago and found when I got it home that both magnets were loose, the motor is still working beatifully and if anything it's one of my better motors.

Tony P
defMondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the difference between quad magnets and 2 magnets? 03phillipsr Electric Off-Road 7 04-11-2007 03:20 PM
P2K2 Pro and P2K2 motors - CHEAP! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-03-2006 03:35 PM
Like new Novak Dually, P2K2 and P2K2 Pro - CHEAP !! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-02-2006 03:20 PM
Fantom p2k2 set up suggestions MMR_Slingr Electric Off-Road 9 05-09-2004 03:42 PM
FS: 21 New Fantom P2K2 Stock Motors amusicwiz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-09-2003 12:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net