Wiki Posts
Search

Driving Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 06:39 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Driving Help

I'm looking for help finding the fastest way around the track. I had found an article online that had a picture of a track and a line through it showing the fastest way around. Can't seem to find it online anymore though. Anybody know of something similar? I am pretty sure I can find the fastest route but wanted to brush up a little just in case.
Old 07-03-2007, 07:18 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I am new to R/C racing, but I did drive real race cars as an amateur in SCCA when I was younger....actually, it would have been funny to just say I stayed in a Holiday Inn last night.....anyways, the best thing to remember is very simple........you are faster going straight than turning, correct? So always set your car up for the next turn by cutting the corners or making minimal directional changes. Sometimes that isn't possible because of other cars in the way, but think your way around your home track as you are sitting here right now.

On long straights or sweepers stay to the outside as the turn is easier and faster from out there. Going through S's? Straighten them out as much as you can.....getting the idea?
Old 07-03-2007, 07:27 AM
Tech Apprentice

the fastest way around the track is to keep on the tarmac as fast as you can without crashing
Old 07-03-2007, 07:27 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Fastest Line

Hi,

I remember one time watching a show, wherein a computer program calculated the fastest line for a specific racetrack given a specific car make.

Then Mario Andretti drove the same car around the track in a faster time than what was theoretically possible. He took different lines that what was supposedly the ideal line.

For rc,,, easiest way is to look at the lines taken by the fastest drivers on a specific track.

Hope this helps.

Joel
Old 07-03-2007, 07:59 AM
Tech Elite