Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
News Flash Indoor tracks droppin' like flies >

News Flash Indoor tracks droppin' like flies

News Flash Indoor tracks droppin' like flies

Old 07-11-2007, 11:38 AM
Tech Adept

I think a really good way to get new people into racing is to not scare them off by pressuring them to buy from the LHS.

I am a newbie. I have not raced once. I viewed my local track/LHS combo forum as an RCTech of sorts, a community where I could bounce ideas off of to try to maximize my budget, which is the tiny one of a high schooler. Instead, I was flamed once or twice and had angry threads written about how retarded I was when I asked if I had gotten a good deal on my GTB.

I'm hoping these people are nicer in person.

Had I not already purchased a car and radio gear, I would have quit immediately. You simply can't expect new people to bow down to the LHS and hand over their wallets. They have to LIKE it before they will support the store, and coercing them to buy from the LHS in any way possible is certainly not a viable option for attracting new people. You can't have experienced racers flame newbies for not buying from the shop.
Old 07-11-2007, 11:49 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Yub, yub, cmdr!
I think a really good way to get new people into racing is to not scare them off by pressuring them to buy from the LHS.

I am a newbie. I have not raced once. I viewed my local track/LHS combo forum as an RCTech of sorts, a community where I could bounce ideas off of to try to maximize my budget, which is the tiny one of a high schooler. Instead, I was flamed once or twice and had angry threads written about how retarded I was when I asked if I had gotten a good deal on my GTB.

I'm hoping these people are nicer in person.