R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   X Ray Evo 2 vs MR4 SD? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/16417-x-ray-evo-2-vs-mr4-sd.html)

xwing 04-15-2003 12:10 AM

X Ray Evo 2 vs MR4 SD?

I am going to get a new car (my last one is MR4TC) and I am thinking about either X Ray E2 or the MR4 SD. Suggestion anyone? I am a consistent driver but is not very good at setup.

Thx

buggyman81 04-15-2003 12:13 AM

either way is good but ive heard that xray cars are or can be a pain to set up so i would go with the mr4sd

Besercoe 04-15-2003 12:41 AM

the pivot ball suspension may be harder than your average car to set up, but the newer cars with c-hubs are exactly the same as other cars.

the xray is a sensational car, tough and easy to get going fast.
As yet the yokomo has not proven itself on the track, if i were to walk into a shop today i would definately go the xray.

But the old adage still applies always buy a car that has good parts support, as you will always end up breaking something.

Cole Trickle 04-15-2003 01:18 AM

Hmmm, tough choise.

As already mentioned, local support are very important.

All the shaft car drivers I know, says that a shaft car is more direct in it's response to driver input, thus less forgiving. They say, that this requires an even better setup.

Both Yok SD and XRay are pretty stiff cars, which definately requires a good setup.

As far as I know, the new Evo2 comes with both C-hubs and pivot ball suspension, but you better check it out.

A couple of things I really like about XRay: They have good setup instructions. And access to adjustments are good too, diff, shock dampning, caster etc., can be adjusted in seconds. If the car is easy to adjust, it's easier to experiment, thus gaining setup experience.

xwing 04-25-2003 05:08 AM