R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2007, 03:15 PM   #16
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: south africa
Posts: 98
Default 11 amps

will 11 amps run an ice charger
minnesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 03:56 PM   #17
Tech Master
mkdut's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

will 11 amps run an ice charger
Yes, with no problem.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 06:36 PM   #18
Tech Master
bender's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

You use resistors on the 5V line to boost the voltage output on the 12v line (I know it sounds confusing but that's how it works)

Because you are using a resistor between the +5v and ground wires, the less resistance in the resistor, then the closer it is to a short circuit, therefore the more load - which increases the voltage on the 12v line.

In other words to boost the voltage on the 12v line use a lower ohm resistor ie: go from 10ohms to 5 ohms etc.

Just remember that as the load increases, so does the heat generated by the resistor. Those little white block resistors may not handle the heat.

My power supply runs a 0.2 ohm 50watt heatsink encased resistor with a fan blowing on it. It will run 2 chargers plus a lathe plus run-in a motor at low voltage and the 12v line doesn't drop below 12.25v under load.

BTW there are already heaps of threads about these conversions - try using the search function
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 07:06 PM   #19
Tech Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

I've noticed that I have to have load connected to my powersupply before I turn it on...

If you hook anything upto it while it's turned on it switches off
Ashley Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 12:22 AM   #20
Tech Regular
Nickmind's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 387
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nickmind

i have a problem, lets see if anyone knows. I have connected everything up right (in fact i am getting over 12v under load), but I can not turn off the power supply with my on/off switch. I have to poll the power cable out to turn off. if I plug back in, with the switch off, the power supply will turn on, but no PWR_OK led comes on. But everything still gets power both 12v and 5v.

The switch work the first time to turn it on. and PWR_OK went one. Charge the a battery then go to turn off. no luck.

Anyone now what my problem is?

Nickmind - 2 x savages, hyper 7, Revo 2.5, TC4, T4, 3 x 18T, CRT x1, Tmaxx, 8ight & 8ight-T 2.0 - all ran from a 3PK and spektrum.
Nickmind is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply conversion to 2 outputs? yellowpasta2000 Radio and Electronics 1 07-25-2008 12:56 AM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-24-2008 11:52 PM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 04:37 AM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 04:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 07:52 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:24 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0