Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BATTERIES HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BATTERIES HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 01:52 PM
Tech Apprentice

Hi you lot, i need some help, ive got matched orion 3700mah cells and they never seem to be giving me the punch every elses at my club does i think there is something wrong with them!!!

ive go a PRO-TRAK charger, is there anyway that i can use my PRO-TRAK to bring my batteries back to life, so i can agen get the punch and run time out of them that they should be giving me....

thanx jordan
Old 02-27-2007, 02:33 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I'm not familiar with that charger. How are you maintaining them? How do you discharge them? Equalize them? Charge settings? What mah do they charge to?

I'm just a beginner too, but the advice I've gathered is:

never run them right down
store long term with some charge in them
discharge at a rate of at least 20 amps after the race
equalize to 0.9 volts per cell before charging
charge at 6 amps, finishing charge just before the race
Old 02-27-2007, 02:40 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

Give us some info on your charger and your charging methods.

How old are the batteries? Do you equalize them?

Be aware that by just having a matched pack doesn't mean it will be as good as the next. 75% relies on how you care for your cells.
Old 02-28-2007, 10:03 AM
Tech Apprentice

well lol, i charge my batteries up at 5 maybe 6 amps and discharge them after the race day at 30amps to a volt of 5.40 i think....but they only charge upto about 2700mah when they are 3700mah

http://www.pro-trak.co.uk/

thats the website for my charger, i tells alot of info

jordan
Old 02-28-2007, 10:22 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Have you got an equalizing trey. by taking your battieries down to 5.4 is okay. you should also equalize them also.