Wiki Posts
Search

Worth gettin a comm lathe with brushless around the corner

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2003, 01:54 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Worth gettin a comm lathe with brushless around the corner

Hi,

Ive been racing for a couple of years but i never really bothered to buy a comm lathe. Now though its getting a bit expensive gettin it cut donw my LHS. I was wondering whether its worth gettin one with brushless motors about to come out, do you think brushed motors will get phased out?

Cheers
Old 03-15-2003, 02:02 PM
OVA
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)

spycs I don't think all stock motor will go away,but again the mod motor might stay around alittle longer..brushless and mod motor just might be in the class running together just my 2cent
Old 03-15-2003, 02:09 PM
OVA
Tech Lord

secondly it is depenting your hobbies track rule...if they want to keep the mod motor brush around alitttle longer,or start a new class for brushless motor...You have to look at How much racing do you do
Old 03-15-2003, 02:16 PM
Tech Rookie

I practically race every fortnight which is about 5 runs and 1 or 2 runs between each fornight. Im thinking of using money that i was going to spend on a lathe to buy a brushless instead maybe. Whats all ur opinions on brushless taking over? I suppose its sorta like NiMH phasing out Ni-CDs.
Old 03-15-2003, 11:13 PM
Tech Adept

I think brushless is the way of the future for sure, won't need to bother with comm lathes now when I move into modifieds.

New technology has this effect on some people, they will never agree something is better.
Look at how some photographers cling to their dirty film cameras, they will never admit a digital camera is even in the race for quality work, despite the quality of digital camera now available.
Same thing in many fields, some people will continue to run the brushed motors for various quaint reasons.

I have seen brushless in action and I know which side I'm on.