R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   200mph prototype for RC Car Action's Insane Speed Run (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/149671-200mph-prototype-rc-car-actions-insane-speed-run.html)

b4maz 02-14-2007 12:19 PM

200mph prototype for RC Car Action's Insane Speed Run

This is a project I have been working on for a couple months. I have been designing my car in CATIA V5. It is electric and based on a RC10L3. I am done designing it, but I need help building it. I have created a webpage with all the details for my project here.

The8BitHero 02-14-2007 12:29 PM

wow that looks sick! Good luck man, 200mph land bound RC would be quite impressive.

RussB 02-14-2007 12:59 PM

looks interesting. have you checked out these guys for your machining work? http://www.emachineshop.com/

also, will that motor have enough torque to get the car up to speed without gear reduction?

b4maz 02-14-2007 01:30 PM

Originally Posted by RussB
looks interesting. have you checked out these guys for your machining work? http://www.emachineshop.com/

also, will that motor have enough torque to get the car up to speed without gear reduction?

I havent checked them out yet. I'll contact them ASAP. Thanks for the info, RussB.

I have been working on some torque calculations, but its hard to estimate the required torque to go 200 when I dont know the correct drag on this car. I need to windtunnel test it to get accurate results.

schmelme 02-14-2007 01:44 PM

Seems to me that to run that fast and not get out of shape the car needs to be 2-3 wheel design. Like a upside down canoe. Am i wrong?

burbs 02-14-2007 03:28 PM

I hope it stays on the ground, most take flight around 90+mph..

what are you using for tires??? That is another huge thing.. Ive seen alot of tires just blow apart going that fast.. cool progect.. I miss the old velodrome speed runs..

losi09 02-14-2007 10:46 PM