Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Battery Charging/Discharging???

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2006, 03:27 PM
Tech Rookie

Unhappy Battery Charging/Discharging???

I bought TC4s for my boys for Christmas. I have no previous RC car experience. I relied on the advice of the local RC car store owner who seemed to know what he was talking about, until I asked about battery discharging. I don't know much, but a red flag went up when he said that they did not need discharging. He said the boys could run the cars until they started to slow and then recharge the battery. Again, I do not know much, but I thought that would shorten the "memory" of the battery. I may be wrong, but it puzzled me. He handed me a couple of battery stick packs by SMC marked only as 3600. The batteries say nothing about mV/C or amps or anything other than 3600. He then handed me a Duratrax Piranha Digital Peak Charger that has programmable settings for different battery types. Well, needless to say, I cannot find ANY info for the batteries to get the settings correct on the charger, and the whole discharging info has left me confused. I visited SMC's site that gave me NO information to support this product. Now, my boys RTRs have become frustrating conundrums. Please help. Do the batteries need discharging? My charger does not have a discharge setting, so do I need to purchase that as well? How do I find info to set the charger to the correct setting to get peak charging of my batteries? Should I only use Piranha batteries with this charger? Is my local store owner knowledgible, or should I find another source for information and purchases???? I am confused!!!
Old 12-25-2006, 04:38 PM
Tech Apprentice

I would say that your batteries SHOULD be discharged, but they don't NEED it.
As for the PIRANNA Charger, you can use almost any battery with it.
I would reccomend that if you would like to discharge your packs, I would reccomend getting a Integy or Much 'n' More discharger.