R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Stock to Mod - What should I know? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/138512-stock-mod-what-should-i-know.html)

adamge 11-28-2006 04:36 PM

Stock to Mod - What should I know?

I'm a newbie. I don't know much about car setup, but thankfully one of the Team XRAY setups for my 007 works great in Stock. That setup feels perfect to me, so I haven't fiddled with it. And I'm pretty fast with it, so I'm not terribly concerned.

However, I'm running my other 007 in Mod with the same setup. Here I'm far from fast, and usually only 1-2 laps faster in Mod than Stock (or less!). I'm looking for tips to help me get better at Mod.

So far all I've really learned is that the throttle must be finessed. I'm dancing with the throttle all the time trying to properly manage my traction between accel/brake and turn. I have noticed that braking immediately before turning can be the difference between flying past an apex and carving around it.

I'm looking for advice on driving and car setup for Mod. The things one just doesn't learn in Stock because it's full throttle 97% of the time, and basically a task of steering the tightest line for 5 minutes.

More droop in Mod? Stiffer springs? More damping, or less? More ride height?

Thanks for any advice, I expect it will be helpful.

In case specifics are important, here they are:
-Foams on carpet (Jaco doublepink/orange, doublepink)
-Xray 007 with Travis' setup, except 4deg C-hubs and white front springs
-Mod motor is a Mamba Max 5700 (not quite as fast as the 3.5, it seemed, but could be my cheap batteries)
-Most recent track was a huge, high speed, no hairpin track (fastest lap of weekend was 8.7s in Mod)

Adam Glatt

smojoe 11-28-2006 04:41 PM