Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Help with capacitor please >

Help with capacitor please

Help with capacitor please

Old 11-16-2006, 03:30 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Help with capacitor please

Hi,

I'm a hardcore offroad buggy racer grease monkey that just decided to spend winter racing instead of going nuts. I just bought a spankin new T2'007 with a LRP Quantum Competition 2 + a C027 and another 19 turn motor on it's way. I just need plain frank unbiased answers on the need for a capacitor on this specific ESC cause I'm a total noob to electric rc.

Is it required, is it just optional ? If optional, what would I gain from it, if required what do I stand to lose by not adding it.

I get different answers all over the place and I am definitly going nuts about this.

LRP QC2 owners' answers prefered.

thanks in advance.
Old 11-16-2006, 04:38 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Punch. The cap will dump it's stored power when you get back on the throttle getting out of corners. This will make racing easier on your batteries as well.. IMO, a cap is very necessary in racing on-road, regardless of which ESC you choose. BTW, I use LRPs...
Old 11-16-2006, 05:34 PM
Tech Regular

a capacitor also helps to keep the esc cool by charging itself w/ the voltage spikes. the cap. absorbs the extra volts and uses it to give extra punch out of the corners.

-Zac
Old 11-16-2006, 05:56 PM
Tech Initiate

I couldn't wait, read one of the threads about caps and I just installed a 16v 4700uF capacitor and a schottky diode on my motor and notice the motor runs MUCH faster.

Another question then. Can a capacitor harm the motor or ESC if I choose the wrong one. I think I got the right thing on as per what I read but just in case...
Old 11-16-2006, 06:21 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)