R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2006, 07:28 PM   #1
Tech Addict
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Plain City, OH
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default QC2 need a cap?

First, does the QC2 NEED a cap to protect the speedo, or does it just help give more punch? I know the Shotky is needed, but what about the cap?

LRP sells the overpriced Worlds kit for the QC2, but is there a source for a cap that would work properly? Radio Shack?

Bike racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 09:33 PM   #2
Tech Adept
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: palmdale ca
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default hi

if you are runing 27 or 19 it is for the punch but if you run mod i would run it that is what i was told buy a lrp guy at socal 1 day. and if u can get the 1 for the gtx it works and it is like 6-10$ i think
team-srh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 10:41 PM   #3
Tech Regular
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I think it's just for punch. Last week in the main my times got like .3 worse and I wasn't sure why. Well checking over the car later only thing I found was the that positive wire on the cap came off. I don't know if that just make the cap useless or if it was actually a negative.
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2006, 12:24 AM   #4
Tech Elite
WheelNut's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Posts: 3,207
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to WheelNut

This is the capacitor that comes with the Novak GTX ESC:
It works very well, but this is the one I use on my ol' QC1:
Its about twice the size of the one that comes with the GTX, so its massive, hehe. Works really, really good though. If you have room for it that is. It is very light though, so you could put it on your top deck depending on what car you run.
•Brad Comis
WheelNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2006, 11:22 AM   #5
Tech Addict
mfishel's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: the racing capital of the world
Posts: 551

I've noticed a drop in 'punch' with my QC2's over time. When I've sent them in I've been told they are fine. But there's no mistaking the lost feel when driving. It is more noticeable in stock.
I don't use caps, other than Schottky diodes. I use 2 on my mod motors, and rarely any in stock. Is this the source of my problems?
mfishel is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:52 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0