R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2006, 09:05 PM   #1
Tech Adept
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whistler BC
Posts: 247
Default No brakes on 27T

I am currently running a CO27 and my motor was in need of a comm cut and new brushes. I cut the brushes on my Muchmore brush cutter with the offset cut. The motor is crazy fast but now I have absolutly no brakes. I tried putting in one of my other CO27's and the brakes were fine so it is not my ESC.

Has anyone ever had this happen to them with a stock motor?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Johnny9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #2
Tech Master
James's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

got a shottky or two on it?
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 09:24 PM   #3
Tech Adept
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whistler BC
Posts: 247

No Shottky diodes on it. I have 2 more of the exact same motor and the brakes work fine on them. The brakes worked perfect before cutting the brushes.
Johnny9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:12 PM   #4
Tech Elite
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,093
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)

i am not familure ( sp) with the much more brush cutter... but it sounds like you do not have enought brush contact on the COM.. kinds like runing an stand up brush in a lay down motor, very very fast but no breaks. so i would change the brushes and see what happesn
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:51 PM   #5
Tech Master
big al's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

if you're running 27t stock,don't sweat the brakes. If you race any other class,then it's an issue. I doubt the schottkey would be an issue with the 27t. It has to be the brushes somehow. If the motor is still competitive,just go with it, I'm pretty sure as the brushes set in, the brakes will come back--Al
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no brakes greenthumb1977 Nitro Off-Road 1 06-21-2008 04:31 AM
Top Driving Styles: Using Brakes and Drag Brakes SlamMan Electric On-Road 32 04-30-2007 10:11 PM
QC2 - No Brakes? Jam-ehz Electric On-Road 2 01-23-2006 01:12 PM
Need help with brakes jigga21 Monster Trucks 1 07-25-2005 02:56 AM
Brakes ? imjonah Electric On-Road 10 10-30-2004 07:54 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:51 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0