Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
need advise on my cyclone s gearing(vid) >

need advise on my cyclone s gearing(vid)

need advise on my cyclone s gearing(vid)

Old 09-17-2006, 07:57 PM
Tech Initiate

Default need advise on my cyclone s gearing(vid)

Well im a newb and im not sure if this is perfectly normal or not. Well the manual said pinion gear 64p and had a range of different teethed ones that would work. I picked one in the middle, 64P 37T. Anyway I installed it and tried every adjustment i could and it seems like theres alot of resistence or something(again may be normal, but thats why im asking). When i push the car really slow with my hand I can hear and feel the motor turning i think. When I push it faster the sound and resistence goes away. Then when i push it and let it go it stops pretty fast. Im woundering if this is all normal or not. Should i be able to hear/feel the motor turn when pushed slow? Should it roll farther/with less resistence when pushed? Or does it seem normal, because ive tried every adjustment. Anyway heres the video of what im talking about. Please note its with a digital camera so theres a slight sound delay, and make sure to turn up your speakers pretty high. I need all the opinions i can get. Thanks alot for your time! Here is the VIDEO

-Dan
Old 09-17-2006, 08:07 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)

that is perfectly normal.have you run it yet. try to run it and mybe adjust the gear mesh.. make sure there is a little play between the spur and the pinion.but not to much cause it will stripp the gear.
Old 09-17-2006, 08:15 PM
Tech Initiate

yea theres a little play between the spur and pinion. i havent ran it yet but will this week(my electronics are coming tuesday probably). Thanks for the help

dan
Old 09-17-2006, 08:20 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

LOL i love the video thats great. Best description u could give.