R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2003, 04:35 PM   #1
Tech Master
Switch Blade's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Comm lathe motor

I am wondering about what motor to use to power a comm lathe, specificly the Trinity tru lathe 3. Would i just use a 27 turn stock motor or what??? also, in the description it says it cuts modified comms...........could i use it for a stock motor also????
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 04:44 PM   #2
Tech Regular
jackhammer74's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: maryland
Posts: 352

you're supposed to use a 55t motor that's specially designed for running a lathe, but I also had heard of people using mabuchi or johnson silver cans (the ones that traditionally come with Tamiya kits) I've been using one on mine for a while and it works great.
You can cut a stock motor's comm as long as the motor is rebuildable, and not one of the old style stock motors which were
sealed endbell.
jackhammer74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 06:06 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 42

The 55T is for use with a 12v supply so you don't have to run the lathe off batteries.

It's all about getting the right RPM for the correct finish. If you have a source of adjustable voltage it doesn't really matter what motor you use.

The reason you see lathes labeled as stock and modified is because rules used to dictate endbells that could not be removed for stock racing. With rebuildable stock motors, now that is a non-issue since mod lathes are used on both stock and mod. But you'll still see lathes labeled this way.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 07:54 PM   #4
Tech Adept
Lab-driver's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 147

I use a stock arm in a mod can set to 0deg and run it @ 5v from my powersupply. BTW the motor parts are the can and endbell from a Reedy Fury and the arm is from a Reedy Firehawk-this was just stuff I had lying around, don't go out and buy something expensive.
Lab-driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 10:06 PM   #5
Tech Elite
Jack Smash's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,873
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

Hey I use a reedy fury can with a stocker inside for my lathe too!
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor lot and motor maintenance setup - comm lathe, brush cutter, 27T, 19T, Mod jkas10 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-10-2008 06:42 PM
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 03:56 PM
** wtb ** motor comm lathe Chris Furman R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 12-31-2006 05:38 PM
Still looking for a used comm lathe 55t motor. JusBox R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 03-30-2006 06:55 AM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 12:07 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0