R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2009, 05:57 PM   #9256
Tech Apprentice
 
dcuz383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 89
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default JRX-S Type R

Just finished my first JRX-S type R. I wanted to test it out at Superior Hobbies Sunday but the race was rained out. 41T Spool in front and 41T diff in the rear. 118 Spur and 53 pinion. 17.5 Novak and Xcelorin ESC. Losi 7.4 4400 30C Lipo. Let me know what you think. I plan on building four kits in the next couple of weeks so all suggestions are appreciated. Also can someone check my FDR for me? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Team Losi JRXS Type-R-losi-jrx-s-type-r-003.jpg   Team Losi JRXS Type-R-losi-jrx-s-type-r-019.jpg   Team Losi JRXS Type-R-losi-jrx-s-type-r-020.jpg   Team Losi JRXS Type-R-losi-jrx-s-type-r-022.jpg   Team Losi JRXS Type-R-losi-jrx-s-type-r-017.jpg  

dcuz383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:11 PM   #9257
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Don't mount the speed control on the top deck... Also, for 17.5, the ratio is probably pretty low. Your at around a 3.96 FDR, which is an excelent starting point, but i know nothing about your track. Just be sure to moniter temp.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:18 PM   #9258
Tech Master
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcuz383 View Post
Just finished my first JRX-S type R. I wanted to test it out at Superior Hobbies Sunday but the race was rained out. 41T Spool in front and 41T diff in the rear. 118 Spur and 53 pinion. 17.5 Novak and Xcelorin ESC. Losi 7.4 4400 30C Lipo. Let me know what you think. I plan on building four kits in the next couple of weeks so all suggestions are appreciated. Also can someone check my FDR for me? Thanks
ya i got a suggestion move the esc to the front left mount it upwards and take the fan off with it being mounted up that high it will throw the car off
__________________
www.myspace.com/krystallinemusic
W.P.A.C crawlers
The Raceway
sickjamminracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:23 PM   #9259
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickjamminracer View Post
ya i got a suggestion move the esc to the front left mount it upwards and take the fan off with it being mounted up that high it will throw the car off

Fan should be fine.
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:28 PM   #9260
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just figured that i'd post this up-

This is my oppinion of how the electronics should be set up (yeah, its my car. ) less the motor and sensor. If you clean the speed control and chassis with isopropyl alcohol, your servo tape will secure the components in as if it where CA glue, some weight needs to be added to the passenger side though (about 15 grams). I find this to be the easiest to use layout, and the only issue i've had is routing the battery leads around the belt, but they can be easily passed under if you solder the positive lead "backwards".

Any questions, just ask. I run 13.5 btw.





__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:28 PM   #9261
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Put the transponder where they provided a nice mount for you, in the front under the diff housing. I don't have my speedo mounted vertical and it works out fine for me. I do have it mounted on the right side though.

Deffinitely get that speedo off the top deck.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)
22 2.0
22T 2.0
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:31 PM   #9262
Tech Master
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Fan should be fine.

when mounting like i previously said the fan sticks over the end of the chassis and i garentee first day you run it it will break off

if you take it off the esc will be flush with the chassis which is the better way to do it unless you are running a lower turn motor but with a 17.5 it wont get hot without a fan
__________________
www.myspace.com/krystallinemusic
W.P.A.C crawlers
The Raceway
sickjamminracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:33 PM   #9263
Tech Master
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Just figured that i'd post this up-

This is my oppinion of how the electronics should be set up (yeah, its my car. ) less the motor and sensor. If you clean the speed control and chassis with isopropyl alcohol, your servo tape will secure the components in as if it where CA glue, some weight needs to be added to the passenger side though (about 15 grams). I find this to be the easiest to use layout, and the only issue i've had is routing the battery leads around the belt, but they can be easily passed under if you solder the positive lead "backwards".

Any questions, just ask. I run 13.5 btw.






a main ... go buy a ip 3800 lipo it fits with no mods and also you can run the leads under the lipo i will post pics in a few min to show you my wiring
__________________
www.myspace.com/krystallinemusic
W.P.A.C crawlers
The Raceway
sickjamminracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:35 PM   #9264
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
Put the transponder where they provided a nice mount for you, in the front under the diff housing. I don't have my speedo mounted vertical and it works out fine for me. I do have it mounted on the right side though.

Deffinitely get that speedo off the top deck.
The transponder thing depends... If the loop is suspended above the track (like all colorado asphalt tracks), if the transponder is under the diff, the signal quality is poor. That's at least for me though, on carpet it should definately be put below the diff.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:36 PM   #9265
Tech Master
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, PA
Posts: 1,950
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ron Goetter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Fan should be fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sickjamminracer View Post
when mounting like i previously said the fan sticks over the end of the chassis and i garentee first day you run it it will break off

if you take it off the esc will be flush with the chassis which is the better way to do it unless you are running a lower turn motor but with a 17.5 it wont get hot without a fan

I ran mine with no fan in foam 13.5 and was fine. I also know that Schreff and Larry run theres with 4 cell plates in 10.5
__________________
The Goat... B-Mainer Fo' life
-Awesomatix USA-ROCHE USA-Team CRC-ORCA-SIDE PIECE RACING-TEAM DAK-EA Motorsports-VP Fuel-Trains and Lanes-CR Graphics-TQ Wire-Horsham RC-rugburn anyone?
Shut up and Race!!!!
Ron Goetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:37 PM   #9266
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine over the summer fanless with 10.5 on asphalt... No issues ever.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:46 PM   #9267
Tech Master
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

heres mine i put the wires under the lipo because i have a ton of room


__________________
www.myspace.com/krystallinemusic
W.P.A.C crawlers
The Raceway
sickjamminracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 07:36 PM   #9268
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I still think this layout is best as it moves your speedie inwards without the belt getting in the way. You coukd move the speedie further forward if you wanted to...
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 10:17 PM   #9269
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
The transponder thing depends... If the loop is suspended above the track (like all colorado asphalt tracks), if the transponder is under the diff, the signal quality is poor. That's at least for me though, on carpet it should definately be put below the diff.
I run mine there reguardless of where the loop is at and never had a problem with it not hitting. You may have a transponder issue if you have trouble with it not hitting with a suspended loop.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)
22 2.0
22T 2.0
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 02:47 AM   #9270
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,223
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

At the carpet track I run at the loop is suspended over the track. I still run the transponder under the front diff and never have missed a lap.

jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Team Losi JRXS-Type R squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-21-2012 12:59 AM
Team Losi JRXS Type R gtxpro2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 09-11-2008 08:45 PM
WTB: Team Losi JRXS Type R shifter R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 07-03-2008 03:30 PM
Team Losi JRXS TYPE-R John Q R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2007 06:55 PM
Team Losi JRXS Type R New In Box Canyon R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-20-2007 04:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0