R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2008, 07:06 AM   #7861
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default

It's all purely in the name of science. I've got a good setup with the posts installed that I'm happy with. It's just to see whether or not I can feel any major difference in the performance.
JRXS_chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 01:32 PM   #7862
Tech Addict
 
RedRocketRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Woodinville,Wa
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRXS_chris View Post
In a quest for a little more tarmac capability I am conducting a little test next time out.

Them posts on the top deck are maintaining masses of chassis stiffness but this eliminates some of the tuning potential that the Xrays, Hotbodies etc can offer with regards to flex. Sooo off they come!

I had to dig around my parts box to see what I could use instead of the posts to keep the battery plate securely fastened. After a few minutes thinking and tinkering I found that some old XXXS shock towers would do the trick. I hacksawed off the camber link mounting holes and screwed them onto the chassis, the holes are perfectly placed.



You can see in the image what I have removed.



This is what the chassis looks like with them in place

(Apologies for the blur! Taken on my mobile!)

With the new bits on the chassis still resists tweak but offers a lot more flex.

Lets see how it goes!
Next time just take the screws out of the top deck into the posts. Leave them attached thru the chassis and still get the flex in the car. Just like the other cars.

RedRocket
__________________
Mastercard fresh off of Suspension
www.HomeRestorationsInc.com

Team West Coast Hobbies
NWIC 2008/09
RedRocketRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 03:15 PM   #7863
Tech Regular
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 418
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

photos with Orion Platinum Two... Lipo fits without a problem, included are weight numbers.

http://photoshare.shaw.ca/messages/v...arm/page/1/15/

to view the larger pictures, click on slideshow and then you can zoom in.

enjoy
__________________
Gordon
Stock Car - Xray T3, Modified Car - Xray T4 '14; Xray X1; Tamiya M-06
My Youtube Channel: search "CARCAR videos" or follow this link https://youtu.be/owXBpsQkyjE
Facebook: CARCAR

Last edited by MaxRain; 08-23-2008 at 03:27 PM.
MaxRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 04:58 PM   #7864
Tech Adept
 
thewholeyearinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 196
Default

what is the fastest 13.5 brushless motor, novak, orion vortex or lrp?
__________________
I don't know who I am I don't know where I've been human junk just words and so much skin stick my hands through the cage of this endless routine just some flesh caught in this big broken machine.
thewholeyearinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 05:22 PM   #7865
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,262
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewholeyearinn View Post
what is the fastest 13.5 brushless motor, novak, orion vortex or lrp?
Xcelorin
__________________
- SchuurSpeed - 6X ROAR National Stock Champion
- Hobbywing North America Team Manager
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 06:57 PM   #7866
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewholeyearinn View Post
what is the fastest 13.5 brushless motor, novak, orion vortex or lrp?
they are all fast...just gear them right and set up your speed control correctly and any of those motors are good.
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 08:39 PM   #7867
Tech Master
 
jrr102486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The One With The Light Saber
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to jrr102486 Send a message via Yahoo to jrr102486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
they are all fast...just gear them right and set up your speed control correctly and any of those motors are good.
+1
__________________
Josh Riese - 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX (212whp/223trq 12psi no tune!)tuning stage 2.5 @25psi
jrr102486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 08:48 PM   #7868
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
Xcelorin




__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 11:26 AM   #7869
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,633
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewholeyearinn View Post
what is the fastest 13.5 brushless motor, novak, orion vortex or lrp?
I don't know about the orion but the LRP & novak I had were about the same but the trinity is slightly faster.

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 09:50 AM   #7870
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,629
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

Anyone know where the steel battery tray is in stock?
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 10:36 AM   #7871
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 239
Default

You can find the steel battery tray in stock here
http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....ducts_id=15641

I've just ordered one and have it already

And i think they have good stock of it because even when i fill in 10 pieces it still does not indicate that it is out of stock.
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 11:14 AM   #7872
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 239
Default Warning for everybody who owns Orion Lipo 4800 and now buys the new Orion 5000 Lipo !

Just a heads up that can save everybody a lot of money:

I own about 5 packs of the Team Orion Lipo in the 4800 Mah version.

I just recentely bought 1 new Team Orion Lipo of 5000 Mah.

Thank god i'm still testing it with my charger because i noticed that they switched the + and - from side !

So if you hook it up the same way like you hook up the 4800 Mah packs then you going to fry your speedo.

I'm going to open up the 5000 Mah pack and turn it around in the casing and drill two new holes.
Then tape up the existing holes and that way no mistake can be made.
This is a very stupid move from Orion and i'm sure that some people will fry their speedo because of this
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 12:41 PM   #7873
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,633
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spillertwo View Post
Just a heads up that can save everybody a lot of money:

I own about 5 packs of the Team Orion Lipo in the 4800 Mah version.

I just recentely bought 1 new Team Orion Lipo of 5000 Mah.

Thank god i'm still testing it with my charger because i noticed that they switched the + and - from side !

So if you hook it up the same way like you hook up the 4800 Mah packs then you going to fry your speedo.

I'm going to open up the 5000 Mah pack and turn it around in the casing and drill two new holes.
Then tape up the existing holes and that way no mistake can be made.
This is a very stupid move from Orion and i'm sure that some people will fry their speedo because of this
Actually its the 4800 that is non-standard, all the other Orion, Track Power, & IB packs have the same placement.

Rather than modify your new pack ,I would suggest changing your older practice packs since any you buy from here on out will be the same as the 5K.
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 01:29 PM   #7874
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,747
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spillertwo View Post
Just a heads up that can save everybody a lot of money:

I own about 5 packs of the Team Orion Lipo in the 4800 Mah version.

I just recentely bought 1 new Team Orion Lipo of 5000 Mah.

Thank god i'm still testing it with my charger because i noticed that they switched the + and - from side !

So if you hook it up the same way like you hook up the 4800 Mah packs then you going to fry your speedo.

I'm going to open up the 5000 Mah pack and turn it around in the casing and drill two new holes.
Then tape up the existing holes and that way no mistake can be made.
This is a very stupid move from Orion and i'm sure that some people will fry their speedo because of this
I lent my 3200 to someone who only ran 4800's and he plugged in reverse, it was a rush, so I forgot to remind him, lucklily it didn't pop his speedo, but the pack ballooned up, and I refuse to use it now. Looking at the case there is NO reason for them to have switched the polarity, it's a very poor choice.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 04:14 PM   #7875
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 239
Default

I'm sorry to say but it is Orion who is making non-standard packs now and i think this is very dangerous.

The 4800 packs where the first they released and then they switched the connectors around for the 3200, 3400 and 3800 packs
And now also for the 5000 packs which succeed the 4800.

Also Trakpower has the same layout as the 4800 packs.
you can see here:
http://www.trakpower.com/Flash/tp49002snew.swf

And the new 5300 pack from LRP has the same layout as the 4800 packs with the plus side on the left.
http://www.lrp.cc/en/products/vtec-b...c-74v/details/

IB i did not find.

Did some more research on this and this is what i find:
+ team checkpoint packs have the same layout as the Orion 4800
+ Trinity 3800 follow the layout from Orion 3200


Does anybody else have hard case packs where you can plug in the connectors in the pack ?
Is the + side on the left or on the right side if you put it in your JRXS-R ?
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Team Losi JRXS-Type R squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-21-2012 12:59 AM
Team Losi JRXS Type R gtxpro2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 09-11-2008 08:45 PM
WTB: Team Losi JRXS Type R shifter R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 07-03-2008 03:30 PM
Team Losi JRXS TYPE-R John Q R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2007 06:55 PM
Team Losi JRXS Type R New In Box Canyon R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-20-2007 04:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0