R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2008, 05:27 AM   #7531
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,297
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=YmeBP;4591124]You have to grind out the little armpits in the top deck a little bit so the plugs clear them.

Is that the 5400 or 4900?

Edit
Just saw you posted it was a 5400 a few post back...
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Reds Racing USA|Hot Race Tyres USA|Team CRC|Team Trinity|
Jackson RC|Horsham RC|Floyd Bennett|Blue Diamond
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!

Last edited by nitrobeast; 07-01-2008 at 06:12 AM.
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:56 AM   #7532
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalracer2 View Post
what fan and heat sink it that on your motor
http://cgi.ebay.com/3Racing-1-10-540...QQcmdZViewItem
3-Racing, it's of decent quality, and fits perfectly but it loosens up. I think if i had some of that heat conductive stuff to help it sit tighter it would be a better fit. I've replaced that one w./ the novak heatsink and i mounted the small novak fans blowing air horizontally across the motor. It works a bit better than this setup for novak motors. I'll take a pic and post i have a new trinity motor so i have to get something that clips on for it.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 07:00 AM   #7533
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

[quote=nitrobeast;4592733]
Quote:
Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
You have to grind out the little armpits in the top deck a little bit so the plugs clear them.

Is that the 5400 or 4900?

Edit
Just saw you posted it was a 5400 a few post back...
That is the 5400 but the 4900 is almost exactly the same dimensions.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 07:01 AM   #7534
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetmaster View Post
The spool pulley i purchased recently was packaged as a 42 tooth(which i wanted),but i have just discovered that it is a 41!!
I think that this may have been part of the reason that i am having so much drama with getting the rear to be planted on exit of turns!!
Be sure to check your parts people!!
Yeah there was a mix up in packaging, Larry or Schreff pointed out the ridge on the pully to check whether it's a 41 or 42.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 05:45 PM   #7535
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to UofAJoe
Default

So its going to be a few weeks until i race again and i am going to rearrange my electronics. I am using a novak GTB esc and it seems pretty large. I am also using the 4000mah lipo from max amps which is pretty slim compared to other lipos.

I was wondering if it would be catastrophic to mount my esc on the top deck. I was thinking that i would have a lot less tweak to correct, and since the car is pretty light w/ the slim lipo, the higher center of gravity might be compensated for.

Or should i mount it on the lower chassis like everyone else and add balancing weights to the other side...?

There is no min weight my my local track so i thought i might be able to use this to my advantage. Then again i could be way off. Just thought ide ask before i go cutting wires down to size.
__________________
-Joey Hawkins
Systems Engineering
University of Arizona
UofAJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:16 PM   #7536
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UofAJoe View Post
So its going to be a few weeks until i race again and i am going to rearrange my electronics. I am using a novak GTB esc and it seems pretty large. I am also using the 4000mah lipo from max amps which is pretty slim compared to other lipos.

I was wondering if it would be catastrophic to mount my esc on the top deck. I was thinking that i would have a lot less tweak to correct, and since the car is pretty light w/ the slim lipo, the higher center of gravity might be compensated for.

Or should i mount it on the lower chassis like everyone else and add balancing weights to the other side...?

There is no min weight my my local track so i thought i might be able to use this to my advantage. Then again i could be way off. Just thought ide ask before i go cutting wires down to size.
I tried this once on my old car and you can tell the difference w/ that speedo up on the top deck. It's difficult to exactly put into words what it feels like but it wants to act almost like a pendulum up so high.

My speedo is mounted incorrectly, it should actually be mounted vertically w/ the fan pointing out i have my 10.5 car setup this way and it fits quite well.

When i get my tekin tmrw i'll take a photo of both and post.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:18 PM   #7537
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

How do you deal w/ inserting the wires into the checkpoint style batteries? I noticed that the insulation and the wire is starting to become frayed by all the pushing and pulling on it i'm wondering if i shouldn't wrap some fiberglass cloth around it and soak it in ca to stiff it up so i can push and pull it w/o breaking the wires.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 06:31 PM   #7538
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to UofAJoe
Default

Yeah the wires were a bitch to work with. I cut away the material near the wires to make them pop out the center instead of to the side and replaced it with electrical tape. To ensure that the padding does not hit the servo i placed the battery in reverse with the flat end towards the servo and the bumpy padded end with the wires toward the motor. My wires come up inbetween the motor and the rear 'driveshaft'.

Since the battery is slim i have two associated b4 battery pads in between the battery and the top deck to hold it in place.

Your idea of the fiberglass w/ ca is a lot better than my electrical tape...
__________________
-Joey Hawkins
Systems Engineering
University of Arizona
UofAJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 09:51 PM   #7539
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

http://www.redrc.net/2008/07/mon-tec...dy-stiffeners/

Old news?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:11 AM   #7540
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post


This will solve the loosening spool issue for sure. i've been hunting high and low for a place to buy them from and i can't find one.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 07:31 AM   #7541
Tech Elite
 
fleetmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NSW
Posts: 2,642
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

After sorting out the diff ratios and rebuilding my shocks,i set the car up to the kit rubber spec. It is a completely different car to drive,not the PIG it was a week ago.
Thanks to all who made suggestions/posted links for me.
fleetmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 08:15 AM   #7542
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
http://www.redrc.net/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/montechlosi-4.jpg

This will solve the loosening spool issue for sure. i've been hunting high and low for a place to buy them from and i can't find one.
http://www.mon-techracing.net/link.html

Here you can find all shops that sells Mon-tech's products, but they are all in Italy....

You can drop them an e-mail asking if they can ship overseas. a.montech@libero.it

Last edited by Fastfreddy74; 07-03-2008 at 08:39 AM.
Fastfreddy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 08:22 AM   #7543
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastfreddy74 View Post
http://www.mon-techracing.net/link.html

Here you can find all shops that sells Mon-tech's products, but they are all in Italy....
none of them have stock listed of those parts that i could find. i wouldn't mind getting them shipped over, maybe get a group order going.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 12:19 PM   #7544
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Italy in Altavilla Vicentina (Vi)
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastfreddy74 View Post
http://www.mon-techracing.net/link.html

Here you can find all shops that sells Mon-tech's products, but they are all in Italy....

You can drop them an e-mail asking if they can ship overseas. a.montech@libero.it
Good job Fast.
Ciao Ciao
Belty Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 12:30 PM   #7545
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belty Dog View Post
Good job Fast.
Ciao Ciao
Would you be able to check availability of these products for us?
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Team Losi JRXS-Type R squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-21-2012 12:59 AM
Team Losi JRXS Type R gtxpro2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 09-11-2008 08:45 PM
WTB: Team Losi JRXS Type R shifter R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 07-03-2008 03:30 PM
Team Losi JRXS TYPE-R John Q R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2007 06:55 PM
Team Losi JRXS Type R New In Box Canyon R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-20-2007 04:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0