Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree52Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2007, 08:39 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

I am surprised to read that so many of you have been having problems with the PRS adapter/stripping gears. I have been running the same 'prototype' plastic PRS spur adapter for more than 3 years now and haven't stripped a single spur with it. In fact, I have been running the same spur gear for nearly three years...

To answer the question of 'why run the PRS spur instead of the Losi spur', the PRS spur gears are machined plastic, not molded, so they are stronger and truer. This is also why the PRS spurs are more expensive, b/c of the time and materials needed to machine a gear instead of molding it...
Old 09-05-2007, 08:56 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)

Originally Posted by Yeti35
Ok, I have a question since someone brought it up, is all this stripping when running a BL motor? I know Syndrome is BL and a few others here are. I don't run BL and if the deal is you have to have the pinion so far out on the end of the motor shaft to mate up right then there is your answer. I run rubber all the time and have had the adapter on 3 different cars with zero issues. So I say you can't blame rubber, but it could be the way you have to setup your pinion with BL. I know on my brushed motors it does not sit that far out on the arm. I have been running a fairly torquey Hemi wound KD on my R and have not noticed anything. I am just guessing here.

the brushless doest pose the problem its the adapter in my case at least.it spaces the gear out farther than a stk gear so with the added torq of brushless it contributes too the problem. i just like the stk gears there cheap enough an easy to switch an if i get my gear mesh tight its fine less weight for sure
Old 09-05-2007, 09:51 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)