R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2007, 11:04 AM   #3016
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,292
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 429racer
I know the kit comes with the EA3 arms, but the arms I received from Horizon are not the EA3 arms, so hopefully these will work out better. I think someone should make aluminum front a-arms for this car if it is a bad issue.
The only problem with that is that we will then be breaking other parts on the car... i.e. the suspension mounts. I would rather replace a $7 part versus a $20 part.

Could it also be that the axles hang-out so far past the tire that they are hanging on the boards - ripping the arms off?
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 11:46 AM   #3017
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,049
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Has anybody broken a part other than a front arm?

I guess I've been lucky with the PDub bumper so far. I've got the BRP kydex bumper, but I haven't put it on there yet.

The axles do hang out quite a bit past the wheels compared to other cars. Hopefully we find a solution to the arm thing, it did a lot to damage the RDX's reputation early on.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 11:59 AM   #3018
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

See.. this all makes me want to bang my head on the table. I broke more short arms with the old car. Period. LOL.

I have had the same thought cross my mind Martin (Duckman) that the axles are grabbing. See, on my car I am running the old axles.. perhaps this is why I havnt broken any arms due to driving error.

Maybe some of the guys on here who have the old car still could try their front LCD axle in the new car and report? I dont think the rears are necessary as no one has complained about the rears breaking.

KB
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 12:51 PM   #3019
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,292
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
Has anybody broken a part other than a front arm?

I guess I've been lucky with the PDub bumper so far. I've got the BRP kydex bumper, but I haven't put it on there yet.

The axles do hang out quite a bit past the wheels compared to other cars. Hopefully we find a solution to the arm thing, it did a lot to damage the RDX's reputation early on.
I know that as soon as I put the Specialized bumper kit on my RDX, the problem disapeared - I would assume that would be the same solution with "R".

I still think the axles stick out too far past the wheel nuts. I'm going to cut mine down with a dremel and see if it helps.

Either way, I really like this car so far.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 03:37 PM   #3020
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,175
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Billanti
See.. this all makes me want to bang my head on the table. I broke more short arms with the old car. Period. LOL.

I have had the same thought cross my mind Martin (Duckman) that the axles are grabbing. See, on my car I am running the old axles.. perhaps this is why I havnt broken any arms due to driving error.

Maybe some of the guys on here who have the old car still could try their front LCD axle in the new car and report? I dont think the rears are necessary as no one has complained about the rears breaking.

KB
thats one thought that crosses my mind... if the rear is already maxxed out at 190mm, why still have the axle overhang? Guess I'll have to introduce the axles to my friend Mr Dremel over the coming week
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 04:00 PM   #3021
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 3
Unhappy Spool?

Can someone please explain to me what I need to do to put a spool in the front on this car. I can't find a part number or any directions to do this. I drove the car for the first time last weekend and I was really excited about it but I need to put a spool in it to get it to act the way I want it to. Please help.

Scooty
Scooty5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 04:45 PM   #3022
Tech Adept
 
losi nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Parkton (just south of Fayetteville), NC
Posts: 185
Default

Scooty, if you go back a couple pages, one of the guys details the way to put a spool together
losi nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 06:14 PM   #3023
Tech Addict
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 736
Send a message via MSN to RussB
Default

well lets see here... i broke: front short arm, rear new arm, and the pulley side diff outdrive. but that was a damn hard hit. i'd have to say that damage was deserved, i blasted an inside bumper coming onto the straight at full steam.

KB, i noticed the front arm i broke yesterday as broken where the arm is notched out for what i can assume is wheel clearance. the only problem i had after that was the above mentioned crash.

the car does go like a bat out of hell though. definitely faster than the mid motor car. i'd say as a whole it's more durable than the the older car as well. i need to order up some outdrives so i can run again next race day.
RussB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 07:02 PM   #3024
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Yes, I will tell you all to keep a set of outdrives on hand. I have a broken one now, and have broke one in the past.

KB
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 07:29 PM   #3025
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,049
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I seem to be struggling with the spool thing too. Do we only need to add the spool pads, or is there a special pulley as well? Part numbers would be perfect if anybody has a second to type them out.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 07:40 PM   #3026
Tech Master
 
J.Filipow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,679
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Just finished up my first rubber/asphalt test session with the Type R. I ran the rubber kit set up, but with slightly higher ride height (5mm front/rear), no Jr. link (just standard turnbuckle) and a Protoform Mazda Speed 6 body (which yeiled more overall/mid/exit steering that standard 6, IMO). I was really happy with the overall balance of the car and quite surprised to find the kit set up so close to being on the pace. I was running on a smooth, high bite outdoor track, with a 125 foot straightaway.
__________________
P1 Brand - "Victory is Black and White" ◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤

Reedy / RC America/XRayUSA / Hudy / Avid / JConcepts / Vannen Watches
J.Filipow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:08 PM   #3027
Tech Adept
 
losi nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Parkton (just south of Fayetteville), NC
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamster778
There is two ways of creating a spool for this car

1) use the newer pulleys with the pads pre fitted A3325 (42t) or A3324 (41t) ( these are for the older car so a little dilling out is required)

2) to use the spool pads, These came out before the above. they are pads that look like sand paper and go inside the diff instead of the diff balls

hope this helps
Here ya go syndrome
losi nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:29 PM   #3028
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

Im starting to put my ESC in my car, and Im having a hard time trying to get the wires to the batteries
Im running Pro-match batteries, so there are big soldering tabs on them. Can some people post some pics on how they did theirs, or tell me how I can do mine.
Im almost done though!

Thanks,
chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:32 PM   #3029
Tech Regular
 
SoCalMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 366
Default

This is what I did.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...16#post3176316

Quote:
Originally Posted by TL_XXX-S_racer
Im starting to put my ESC in my car, and Im having a hard time trying to get the wires to the batteries
Im running Pro-match batteries, so there are big soldering tabs on them. Can some people post some pics on how they did theirs, or tell me how I can do mine.
Im almost done though!

Thanks,
chris
SoCalMitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:36 PM   #3030
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

Ya, I was thinking of using the Corally plugs. Another thing I noticed is that the back battery bar by the pully is very close from touching. Will this short out? Im thinking of getting some narrower bars just for the back cell so it will have more clearance.
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Team Losi JRXS-Type R squarehead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-21-2012 12:59 AM
Team Losi JRXS Type R gtxpro2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 09-11-2008 08:45 PM
WTB: Team Losi JRXS Type R shifter R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 07-03-2008 03:30 PM
Team Losi JRXS TYPE-R John Q R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2007 06:55 PM
Team Losi JRXS Type R New In Box Canyon R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-20-2007 04:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0