R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2006, 03:13 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Exclamation re-building a car.. need help..

hi.. first of all i gotta say sorry for my english and for my newbieness.. :S

i recently got this car.. as a gift from my uncle.. it came without controller so i buy a package with Futaba T2PH a receiver and a crystal. The car has a tekin TSC411P speed controller..(i've found it's an old one) a futaba servo.. and a 7.2v 1700mA and a 8.4v 1300mA..

okay.. the problem is that the car its glitching alot.. i can't take it out to play with it because when i start driving around i crash.. alwayss.. because of the glitching.. i need to fix that.. the car is pretty old but it's supposed to work well well.. i'll post a photo of the car.. please help..

thx in advance..
pabloartee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 03:23 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default here are some photos..

Don't worry i've recently cleaned it.. lol..

pabloartee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 03:25 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default another photo..

pabloartee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 03:26 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default one last thing..

the little.. plastic-like case of the receiver i do it myself.. i was trying to aislate the receiver to see if that help in some way but it doesn't.. im kind of frustrated.. :S
pabloartee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 07:18 PM   #5
Tech Elite
RCSteve93's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

What you've got is a Team Associated RC10. That car is very hard to find. First off, try to make sure your radio batterys are still good. If they are old replace them with new ones. If your car still is glitching make sur your throttle and steering trims are set. Some times if they are not set your car will give you the impression it is glitching.
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 01:22 AM   #6
Tech Regular
PeteB's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477

I have had glitching problems in the past, heres a couple of things for you to check:
1) the length of the antenna. if the antenna wire has been shortened or is damaged this will reduce your range and will cause your car to glitch more the further away it goes.
2) check to see if the receiver antenna wire is properly soldered into the receiver, somtimes if the plastic antenna tube breaks the antenna wire can get pulled /pulled out if it goes under the rear wheel while driving.
3) check to see if the transmitter antenna is properly soldered, i had an old transmitter that had really bad glitching, so i decided to take it apart and found that the antenna connection to the circuitboards inside the transmitter had come loose, I got someone who new more than i did about soldering to fix it and it worked perfectly afterwards...

hope this helps in some way...

GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 07:15 AM   #7
Tech Champion
F. Mendoza's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)

Double check your antenna as previously mentioned. Also check that all three capacitors are properly soldered on the motor. Old motors do not have factory installed capacitors like newer motors do. Capacitors are at the motor's endbell, usually green. Glitching will start as soon as soon as you apply throttle. Sometimes even the motor can be bad, good luck.
Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
Thanks to the SoCal guys that help me & "Tha Man" Paul Lemieux
Racing TC Class where allowed with what I have.
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 08:12 AM   #8
Tech Elite
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,961

It's an RC10T

I would take apart the reciever and clean out any dirt... You may also have a bad crystal. Make sure the antenna wire isn't touching any metal.

Parts fot the car are still available, the RC10GT was based off it.
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 09:55 AM   #9
Tech Elite
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,713
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie

First thing first.

If you haven't reset your ESC to your new radio, it will never work correctly.

Go to the tekin wesite and try to find the instruction manual on how to set your ESC.

Follow those directions and make sure your radio settings are set correctly as well.

If you still have a problemm used two or three layers of servo tape.

Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kit Building Rock Pile RC Flight 60 03-02-2011 01:23 AM
Building a kit noR Rookie Zone 4 07-03-2008 05:20 AM
Building your own ESC... Bigshades Radio and Electronics 7 02-20-2008 01:36 AM
building my FT B4 simba Australian Racing 1 09-11-2007 05:06 PM
Building a kit vs. RTR dylan-d Rookie Zone 22 05-17-2004 09:17 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:34 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0