R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2006, 08:53 PM   #1
Tech Addict
Tim W.'s Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eagle, Idaho
Posts: 714
Default Help

I have a xxl 75mhz fm reciever that works fine but the antena wire is broken in 2 can i just re solder it or should i send it in to novak
Werks Racing USA, Mugen, AKA, Airtronics, Avid, Upgrade
Tim W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 08:56 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: boise, ID
Posts: 62

I tryed fixing one of my antenas once...didnt work out to well. Send it to novak theyll probably only charge you a few bucks. And it will be done by people that know what there doing.
slowandsteady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 09:00 PM   #3
Tech Regular
PeteB's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477

you should be able to just strip off some of the insulation and twist it together, that should work. (maybe with slightly less range, but still enough)

better solution is to solder it back together

better solution again is to replace the antenna altogether, carefully open the receiver, and desolder the existing antenna and put in another. make sure that the solding iron that you use is not too hot (maybe 15a), because you are working in a circuit board,

even better solution is to get someone in an electronics shop or someone who know how to solder to do it for you...
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 09:01 PM   #4
Tech Regular
Z.Hallett's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett

you could always try to fix it yourself, but if it doesnt work right, novak might not fix it if you try and send it to them because it is "tampered" with. your choice, you could possible fix it though.
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 09:06 PM   #5
Tech Regular
RoachRacing's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: American Fork, Utah
Posts: 327
Send a message via ICQ to RoachRacing Send a message via AIM to RoachRacing Send a message via Yahoo to RoachRacing

Your best off sending it in, downside is time without it and the cost. The other thing that you can do is get some antenna wire that is the same length of the original wire and solder that to the board in the receiver. just be carefull!!

Use a good iron and as little solder as possible while attaching the new wire. i have dont it on an old receiver of mine.

RoachRacing is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:57 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0