R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2006, 08:43 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default newbie- TA05 + esc

I'd like to order a TA-05 this week, and I need to know what esc to get. I'd like to keep it under 100. I would also like a better motor; I plan on the lowest turn my esc can handle, but I dont want to drop a ton on hop-ups.

If someone could give me the max size esc that fits, that'd be great. I'd also like recommendations on hopups for a couple different motors, say 15T, 12T and 10T.

As far as motors- which brand should I get?


iamscottym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 08:49 PM   #2
Tech Regular
PerformanceRC's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 493

The TA05 has little room for a speed controller , make sure you know what size you need i think its 35 x 35
Team1RC.com makes the best value motors
PerformanceRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 10:08 PM   #3
Tech Addict
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SpeedDesignz

honestly .... with esc prices the way they are now

I know you would like to keep it under $100

Would saving the xtra $75 bux stop you ?

under $200 will buy you a top notch esc .. (with proper care) you'll have it for life.
probably out live the car you buy
come with a kick ass warrentee

to honestly tell you as a friend ...... and esc is somthing you would want to buy "NEW" or from a friend you "KNOW" . Normaly I promote the use of the used "for sale" add's on this site ( awesome in fact) but in the case of ESC's or batt's ..................................... I say "new"
NYC Hobbies / Eurotek motorsports / SpeedDesignz / BackBreaker Racing !!
SpeedDesignz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 10:27 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25

ya, I definitely wouldnt buy a used one. Are there any cars with a little more space- for the esc, or overall. the thing is, i have to fit a gyro and a microcontroller on a board inside this thing, and a few micro servos if possible. extra money for the esc wouldnt kill me, but this car will be a test bed for some aero research im doing- so the likely hood of the program glitching and wrecking the car is high. Be that as it may, I'm looking at the novak xrs for 50 for now(14T)..and once I get the program working and need the extra speed, I was looking at the quantum reverse 2 pro/bullet(12/8T), or possibly something that can handle 3S lipo. I would have gotten the quantum reverse super, but its 90 and has the same specs as the novak.
iamscottym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 11:00 PM   #5
Tech Master
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,014
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

I have a Novak GTS in my TA05. It fits PERFECT and it's only $78 bucks.

ittjv is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: TA05-R, TA05-IFS + Spares! Hebiki R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 06-23-2008 11:47 AM
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 07:58 PM
Little help for a newbie, please. ShakataGaNai RC Flight 2 04-22-2007 11:08 AM
Some Newbie Questions, Please Offer Advice TA05 bshown Electric On-Road 16 04-10-2007 10:23 AM
Help a Newbie Out TobyAU Australian Racing 4 07-23-2004 03:59 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:09 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0