R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2006, 05:34 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Default Dyno and Brushless?

Hi folks can i use a dyno to check a brushless motor?
Cotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 06:19 AM   #2
Tech Addict
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld

You can hook it up to a dyno, but you have to use your brushless ESC and electronics from your car to power it. At this time, there aren't any dynos on the market with the complicated electronics inside needed to run the brushless motors.
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 07:12 AM   #3
Tech Elite
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,961

What are you considering to be a Dyno? None of the current crop of dyno's can run a brushless.
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 07:14 AM   #4
Tech Champion
RCGaryK's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

You can do it like the airplane guys do...get a prop with some reflective tape and an optical tachometer...grab full throttle and get an RPM reading.
Site Content Specialist- Surface

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 12:36 PM   #5
Tech Master
timmay70's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

And if you wanna complete the 'old school' dyno, use an RPM motor holder set, get some fuel tubing and connect the brushless to a brushed slave motor, get some high wattage resistors and a meter... Short the resistors of various resistances across the slave motor while measuring the voltage drop. If you can figure out ohm's law you can guestimate the load put on the brushless system...

The whole shooting match can be run from the brushless esc.

Oh, the good ole days.
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 04:25 PM   #6
Tech Addict
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Does it make any sense dyno Brushless at all??? If you find out that your motor is worse than your buddy's what can you do about it?

Last edited by cvt01; 07-11-2006 at 09:18 PM.
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 04:31 PM   #7
Tech Regular
T. Thomas's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 380

Here is a question, would it be possible to hook up a brushless speedcontroller in-line between a brushed dyno and the motor. And when you push test, just hold the speedo at full throttle on your controller(just need to have a receiver pack hooked to your receiver so you can have power to the receiver when the dyno is not activated)? This way the dyno will be able to read the volts, amps, etc.
T. Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 12:42 PM   #8
Tech Addict
BigDaddyT's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 620
Send a message via MSN to BigDaddyT

The one tricky bit is that I believe most of the dynos read the source Amp/Watt draw from the test motor, so it would be hard to get a full reading unless you can get the ammeter inside the dyno to read the draw on the brushless ESC.

You would still be able to measure acceleration and top RPM and so forth, but you wouldn't be able to measure efficiency because most of the dynos use a power applied / power realized at the flywheel/slave in order to determine how efficient the motor is. Maybe that's not a big deal though.

Also, it would be way better if you could get the dyno itself to control the throttle input on the ESC because anything time-dependent will get skewed by your reflexes and depending on the dyno/software this could either be a big deal or not so much.

You would probably need a way to defeat any safety/user error systems on the dynos as well. All of them have some form or another of checking to make sure the motor is connected properly, etc. It might be hard to get them to fire up without doing some tricks.

The other thing - that CVT mentioned is that getting the results is one thing, but being able to tune the motor afterwards is a different story.

It would be interesting though!
T-Bang Hobby Technology Inc. - www.t-bang.ca
Extreme Performance RC Motors and Racing Supplies - Vancouver, Canada
Team Corally - Trinity - Dekelz.com
BigDaddyT is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brushless Dyno Plots JevUK Radio and Electronics 23 10-24-2010 04:26 PM
Idea to Use brushed motor dyno for brushless JevUK Electric On-Road 45 04-06-2009 09:52 AM
Spy Shot: New Brush to Brushless Motor dyno Converter Module Veteq Electric On-Road 38 12-29-2008 10:09 AM
trinity dyno,integy spring dyno,new g11 speed contorls,and more Warren Weaver R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 64 05-01-2008 09:30 AM
New Fantom Dyno Facts Machine Dyno jeffscrew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-13-2008 04:53 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:13 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0