Wiki Posts
Search

Question will this damage my car

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 06:05 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Arrow Question will this damage my car

I will be receiving an Xray t2 very shortly and was wondering running it on asphalt very bad asphalt with little rocks being thrown up every now and thenin my front yard for practice will that damage my car. and if so where would be another optional place besides a track. this is my first time owning a car for racing and i dont want to go to the local track with a pretty good car and rip it up along with everyone elses. what do you guys recommend.

thanks
Josh
Old 06-29-2006, 06:23 PM
Tech Master

Chassis protector. It's a plastic film adhesive that you put on the bottom of the chassis.
Old 06-29-2006, 06:32 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

DO NOT run that car on bad asphalt and small rocks! Besides destroying the bottom of the chassis, there is a great possibility of kicking rocks up into the diff and destroying it. If you want to practice somewhere besides the track...try a tennis court or do some looking around for new shopping centers with fresh asphalt (even this I really wouldn't put my car on). You are not going to do yourself any favors by trying to run on that stuff. You will never be able to create a set up or even drive right if the surface is in that bad of shape.

Good luck to you.

Last edited by killingtime; 06-29-2006 at 08:09 PM.
Old 06-29-2006, 08:34 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Go to a track near you when just a few practices put in some stock motor and a short gear ratio. Go slow first. Nobody will laugh at you if you hit things we all started like that - and most of us still hit things very badly sometimes... don't go in parking lots with that thing.

The other advanteage to go to a track that you can find some new friends who can help to start. Most of the guys are very helpful.
Old 06-29-2006, 10:03 PM
Tech Regular