Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Importance of battery brand?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2006, 06:30 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Importance of battery brand?

Hey all. I'm in the market for some battery packs just for bashing(27 turn motor and just drifting, so not really a big load), and i noticed the huge price difference between cells like 3300mah(or whatever) GPs and ebay 3300 powerizers. What sort of differences are there between 2 different brands? you could get 2 6cell packs of the powerizer for the price of 1 6cell pack of GPs. if its just for bashing, does it really make that much of a difference? what sort of runtime difference or power difference could i see between 2 brands? sorry bout all the questions, but im pretty new to this. that and im a cheap bum. thanks.
Old 06-21-2006, 06:36 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I ran brand new no name 3300's then ran used IB3800's. Huge difference in power. The cheap batteries won't hold voltage under load and that means a lot less power. The IB3800's put out a lot more power. If you like power, get the better batteries. Even good used ones. Also, get a decent charger.
Old 06-21-2006, 07:37 PM
Tech Elite

For bashing and if you need to make your money count go to Radio shack and get these for 25 bucks:

Model: GPTC204RS-2C1 | Catalog #: 23-319

they are GP3300 six cell stick packs. With a tamiya connector. Radio Shack will order them from their warehouse if they don't have them in stock on the shelves.

Are you sure your charger can handle the cells you want to buy?

What kind of a charger do you use?
Old 06-21-2006, 07:55 PM
Tech Apprentice