Search

Schottky Diode??

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2006, 01:31 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Schottky Diode??

hey guys im running a duratrax 8t pro esc with a johnson 540 silver can motor
in my Touring car and i switched motors and blew my kit Schottky diode and now i want to replace it just to be safe. so does any one know what type i need??
all possible details please im a noob. thanks in advance
ps should a install a power cap ie the big ones included with novak esc??
Old 05-14-2006, 01:53 AM
Tech Master

You could have sodered it the other way round.

Or your ESC might have a reverse function. Reverse and diodes don't mix.

The positive side of the diode is the one with the white colour bar. Unlike caps. Capacitors have the bar on the negative side...
Old 05-14-2006, 03:02 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

yeh i know how i blew it i soldered it back to front ie stripe to negative and it went pop lol
but i want to replace it asap just to be safe
so please help
Old 05-14-2006, 08:06 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

SB540 schottky barrier diode

5 amps rating, 40 volts reverse

An electronics shop might have them a lot cheaper than a hobby store. Higher numbers would be fine such as 550
Old 05-14-2006, 05:34 PM
Tech Master

Ive never ever run a shottkey on any esc ive ever had.. in 18 years of racing, i have never blown up or had a esc fry..
Old 05-14-2006, 05:53 PM
Tech Adept

I'm using 2 schottky diodes on my 23-turn orion katana motor, feeding him is my Novak Racer EX (forward only).
Old 05-14-2006, 10:34 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by macgyver1432000
I'm using 2 schottky diodes on my 23-turn orion katana motor, feeding him is my Novak Racer EX (forward only).

I've a Novak diode on...Just to be even safe, I solder 3 more on it...!!
Old 05-14-2006, 11:22 PM
Tech Fanatic

Hi I just wanna ask, the diode that came with the KO Propo ESC where can I find a replacement???