R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 05-21-2006, 09:34 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default Words from the wise

Ok, Just to get the formal stuff out of the way, Im new to electric, I just got rid of my NTC3 in lieu of an electric. I bought a fairly low end model, but I really like it. Its a Tamiya TT-01 chassis. I move it about with Futaba gear. Now dont flame me, cuz Im just learning this electric biz without shocking the living shy@t outta myself. But my buddy runs a Nitro, a HPI RS4. He made the remark that electric is dumb and that he is just gonna smoke me around and around. Well his car is stock. I have the suspension figured out, but what I need to know, is what motor, esc, gear combo would make him eat his lunch? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanx

KrayZFrameRate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 10:50 PM   #2
Tech Addict
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Probably gonna need a bit more info.

Which RS4? There's been like 719 iterations
Nitro RS4 / RS4 2 / Racer / Racer 2 / RS4 3 / Evo / SS / 18SS Super Nitro

Single-speed? or 2-speed?
What gearing?
Big-block converted?

Here in SoFla, we run SERIOUS RS4's. .21 racing on-road engines, single-speed with 26T/37T gearing, 80mm tall tires. They routinely clock in the high-80's to low-90's on a Bushnell radar gun.
Old-school trader fb at http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=101926
sharkonwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 11:01 PM   #3
Tech Master
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Most likely gonna get beat by a nitro in a drag race. If you really wanted to beat him, you can, but it'll cost you. You'd have to pretty much make a car soley for going fast in a straight line. Try this instead, get some cones and what not and a fairly simple track and race him on that. A good 19T should be enough to keep up with a nitro on a course.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 11:03 PM   #4
Tech Regular
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)