R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2008, 05:50 AM   #781
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaay View Post
im trying to get more steering and installed 4mm shims in the servo saver. upon doing this the steering has binded up against the pivot block. is there any way to get around this problem?
thanks!
Yes dont use the shims....

The plastic steering already has ackerman built in.
I dont think its 4mm but its definitely more than standard.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:15 AM   #782
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

At some point I saw a link to a shop selling these for $125.00. Does anyone know which store that was? I'd like to get one for my son.
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:30 AM   #783
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoTone View Post
At some point I saw a link to a shop selling these for $125.00. Does anyone know which store that was? I'd like to get one for my son.
Ultimate Hobbies... but they are "out of stock"

http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar...=HBS66446!1007

http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar...=HBS66403!1007

The RTR is in stock, but it is $199

http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/istar...=HPI66402!1007
__________________
XRAY XB2, XT2 ~ TLR 22-4 2.0 ~ Mugen MBX7TR Eco ~ JQ THE eCar WE, THE Car WE
AE TC7.1
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:53 AM   #784
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks alot
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 05:27 PM   #785
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Hi, i have a cyclone s rtr and want to convert it to a drift racer. I was hoping someone could tell me a good drift set up for this car.
Thanks, Rhys.
speed freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 08:10 PM   #786
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Hi guys,

It a good idea to use the Cyclone Tube S kit to race 13,5 brushless + NiMH or Lipo class ? (rubber tyres, asphalt)

thanks,
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : pato_concha@yahoo.com
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:40 AM   #787
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

Why isn't the Cyclone S Kit in stock at ultimatehobbies.com or speedtechrc.com? They haven't had the kit w/o or with the body in stock for a while. Anyone know why? I wanted to buy one from one of these sites since they are much cheaper than Tower Hobbies. Anyone racing the Cyclone S in Vintage Trans Am?
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 10:21 AM   #788
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,630
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

crazy4wdracer- Tower may be the best deal right now. Because, you get $20.00 off an order of $149.00 or more. I ran the Cyclone S in a six cell vitage class with the HPI Mustang body and the speed was very good, but it was loose. I ran out of time to get it hooked up.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 10:25 AM   #789
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

Thanks, I didn't realize tower had the $20 off coupons. Were you racing on asphalt or carpet?
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 10:49 AM   #790
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,630
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

I was racing on asphalt. Your welcome.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:32 PM   #791
Tech Apprentice
 
M-Tune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: keizer
Posts: 76
Default Cyclone S help

What pinion size is a good starting point for the Cyclone S with a LRP Brushless 5.5 motor?
M-Tune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:52 PM   #792
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,630
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

M-Tune - I don't really know since I run stock,but you may want to check some of the setup sheets for the regular Cyclone.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 01:55 PM   #793
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

A 5.5 might be a little fast for a stock Cyclone S. Keep an eye on your diff halves and the center pulleys.

Also if you run a spool up front you will need an aluminium center pulley for the front belt, which also means changing the layshaft.

Also make sure you have changed out the C hubs to the proper carbon graphite ones. The stock plastic ones are rubbish and will literally break in your first few runs.

With the gearing you should ask around but i think what you posted in the main thread sounds right might be a touch high for a starting point though.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:01 AM   #794
Tech Adept
 
mr fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: new jersey usa
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
A 5.5 might be a little fast for a stock Cyclone S. Keep an eye on your diff halves and the center pulleys.

Also if you run a spool up front you will need an aluminium center pulley for the front belt, which also means changing the layshaft.

Also make sure you have changed out the C hubs to the proper carbon graphite ones. The stock plastic ones are rubbish and will literally break in your first few runs.

With the gearing you should ask around but i think what you posted in the main thread sounds right might be a touch high for a starting point though.
the best c hubs are the aluminum ones. i bought mine at rc-mushroom.(or you can buy them at 3 racing.com) they have 0-2-4 degree hubs.i also bought the aluminum knuckles for the front and rear.the car is as strong as a tank now. and the weight is the same as the plastic ones.
__________________
marc davila aka... marc ups.... drive it like you stole it.

Last edited by mr fit; 10-24-2008 at 11:23 AM.
mr fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:21 AM   #795
Tech Adept
 
mr fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: new jersey usa
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Tune View Post
What pinion size is a good starting point for the Cyclone S with a LRP Brushless 5.5 motor?
are you running on an outdoor 1/8 scale or nitro 1/10 scale track? i have ran 10.5 on an outdoor nitro track. it was plenty fast. i think 5.5 might be too much and hard to control.you might not get the best out of your ride.then again if you are running on a big 1/8 scale track try a 30 pinion and work from there. you may want to go up or down in pinion size.also change your spur to a 103 or 108.you can check andy moore's setup sheet for reference. check motor temps frequently. make sure they dont pass 190.sometimes after you stop, motor temps go up as all the heat builds up inside and not being vented.try not to burn your motor.
__________________
marc davila aka... marc ups.... drive it like you stole it.
mr fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 12:17 PM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 11:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 07:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 07:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 03:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0