R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2008, 04:58 PM   #766
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,626
Trader Rating: 104 (100%+)
Default

I need help with the Cyclone S. It is very difficult for me to set up. I have owned many, many touring cars. I have never had a car that wanted to swap ends so much. It constantly over steers. I have the rtr version and one with with some hop ups. I have done everything i can think of. I have used softer springs in the rear, harder in the front, light weight oil in the rear shocks, heavier oil in the front shocks, toe out, ride height and droop adjustments, I have used the stock tires, have used other brands of good rubber tires, vintage tires and rims, moved shock positions, adjusted the steering throw on my radio, etc. I cannot get it really grip in the rear. I have owned a pro 3, pro 4, XXXs, TA05, TC3, RDX, and others. I must be doing something wrong.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 02:46 AM   #767
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure the front center pulley is not stripped?

The plastic can strip if you use a one-way or spool so if you give it acceleration it looks like the wheels are spinning but if you hold the wheels and spin the spur manually you will see it doesnt really have drive.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 07:17 AM   #768
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,626
Trader Rating: 104 (100%+)
Default

Mangoman - I don't think so, but i will check it out. Thanks for the help.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 09:01 AM   #769
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slakr View Post
I bought this Cyclone Front Solid Axle (Spool) for my Cyclone S
https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...ns&pn=HOT61045

But the stock Cyclone S dogbones don't push far enough into the spool outdrives.

Are there other parts I need to put a spool in my Cyclone S?

Thanks.

Anyone?
__________________
AE B6D,TC7|Mugen MBX7TR Eco|JQ THE Car WE,eCar WE
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 02:55 PM   #770
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,626
Trader Rating: 104 (100%+)
Default

The stock Cyclone S comes with gray foam inserts for the diff out drives. Did you put those in? If they are still too short, you'll probably have buy the optional cvd's.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 03:50 PM   #771
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Actually, the pins or ears on the dogbones don't slide into the spool outdrive past the beveled portion of the slots on the outdrive. It is as if these pins or ears are to big or the slots in the spool outdrive are to small. Can't even get the dogbones in far enough to stand the tires straight.
__________________
AE B6D,TC7|Mugen MBX7TR Eco|JQ THE Car WE,eCar WE
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960

Last edited by slakr; 07-28-2008 at 06:40 AM.
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 01:37 AM   #772
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Slakr that is more than likely possible due to the following.

There are v1 and v2 universals. The difference is that the the sphere on the end of the v2 universal where the pin is fixed through is slightly smaller. So it might be the size of that stopping you from being able to put the dogbone into the cup.

Personally i never tried using the dogbones on the S i also found when putting them into the cups on the ball diff that they were binding a touch in the first place and i didnt like them. I ditched them and went for universals.

If you are looking at getting universals 3 racing make some which are cheap but they can break easily if you are using a spool/oneway (but they will be just fine in the rear). I always use the HB Steel HD Universals (v2) up front because they are the strongest available but can sometimes be hard to get. Then i have some older aluminium ones which i use in the rear cause they are a little lighter and they came with other kits that i had.

If you are racing anything faster than stock i would personally recommend getting the steel hd unis
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )

Last edited by mangoman; 07-28-2008 at 02:50 AM.
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:58 AM   #773
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Nope... nothing fast. Right now the Cyclone S is a dedicated USVTA racer; 21.5BL motor.
__________________
AE B6D,TC7|Mugen MBX7TR Eco|JQ THE Car WE,eCar WE
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:32 AM   #774
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

BTW you know you need to upgrade center pulley to a metal one if you are using spool....
Only need to do the one to the front belt but it also means you will need to get a new layshaft. Depending on whether you have the old or new layshaft you may be able to continue using a plastic center pulley to the rear belt
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:51 AM   #775
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
BTW you know you need to upgrade center pulley to a metal one if you are using spool....
Only need to do the one to the front belt but it also means you will need to get a new layshaft. Depending on whether you have the old or new layshaft you may be able to continue using a plastic center pulley to the rear belt

Yep... I did both center pulleys, spur gear hub and center shaft
__________________
AE B6D,TC7|Mugen MBX7TR Eco|JQ THE Car WE,eCar WE
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:05 AM   #776
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

That's good. Although im thinking that with a 21.5 BL i expect that a one-way would actually be faster than a spool.

You may want to ask around the track you are at and see what the fast guys in your class are using up front.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:09 AM   #777
Tech Master
 
Taffyjnr5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: QLD
Posts: 1,995
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Hi,
I am about to set my 9yo son's Cyclone S up with a 21.5.............
__________________
Serpent ERYX 4.0
Sworkz EVO LE/OS Speed
Sworkz EVO 2/Hobbywing
Taffyjnr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:38 AM   #778
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
That's good. Although im thinking that with a 21.5 BL i expect that a one-way would actually be faster than a spool.

You may want to ask around the track you are at and see what the fast guys in your class are using up front.

I am pretty consistant in the top 3 with my T2R and I use a spool up front. The Cyclone S is just going to be a second VTA car to have around and to lend out to try and get more onlookers interested in the hobby and class.

There should be a few guys at the race this weekend with Cyclones. Maybe they have some different dogbones (aluminum, V2 Etc.) as spares that I can see if they fit into the spool I have. I might pick up an extra set of the Cyclone S bones (they're cheap) and shave a little off the pins/ears so that they move freely in the slots of the spool outdrives.

Thanks for all the comments/suggestions.
__________________
AE B6D,TC7|Mugen MBX7TR Eco|JQ THE Car WE,eCar WE
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 07:57 PM   #779
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 163
Default

Well I am a new "S" owner,getting back into racing after a couple of years off. All I can say is what a insanely easy build this car is! Even after reading thru this thread I still had to scratch my head when trying to attach the diff mounts to the chassis, funny they didnt fix that typo yet! Anyways, any suggestions would be welcomed and I plan on setting it up for the T/A class.
boyntoncyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 03:35 AM   #780
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Default

im trying to get more steering and installed 4mm shims in the servo saver. upon doing this the steering has binded up against the pivot block. is there any way to get around this problem?
thanks!
__________________
Cheese City Xtreme Rc
-Tim
timmaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 12:17 PM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 11:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 07:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 07:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 03:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0