R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2007, 12:29 PM   #631
Tech Master
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I did notice they leak a little around the top but a small o ring type gasket will fix that.
Deves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:13 AM   #632
Tech Initiate
 
bullfrog_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default Front 3Racing Spool

Hey guys, can you help please. I run a silvercan motor and am considering trying a front 3racing spool.

http://www.3racing.com.hk/x_descript...ducts_key=8760

I was wondering what else I need as I cannot see how the front belt attaches or do you just use the exsisting from drive gear?


Thanks in advance
bullfrog_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 07:45 AM   #633
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

use the existing belt, just make sure you purchase the v2 steel hb drive shaft and the hb axles.
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 01:54 AM   #634
Tech Initiate
 
bullfrog_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
use the existing belt, just make sure you purchase the v2 steel hb drive shaft and the hb axles.
Is it possible to use the 3Racing universals? or am I best to stick with the HB products? I cant see myself running anything other than a silvercan. Thanks
bullfrog_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:49 PM   #635
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

3Racing uni's should be fine for silver can racing bullfrog, as soon as you go into stock make sure you buy the HB spool, one way pulley, drive shaft and axles as they are much stronger. I thought you'd be better off running a front one way in 540 as you dont generally use brakes so it would certainly give you more speed.

cheers
adrian
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 01:30 AM   #636
Tech Initiate
 
bullfrog_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
3Racing uni's should be fine for silver can racing bullfrog, as soon as you go into stock make sure you buy the HB spool, one way pulley, drive shaft and axles as they are much stronger. I thought you'd be better off running a front one way in 540 as you dont generally use brakes so it would certainly give you more speed.

cheers
adrian
More speed is what I am after, would a front oneway be faster than a spool using a silvercan? you are right I can drive the track with out using the brakes, I just throttle off on the corners and average 7th in the A final, I run a 51mm rollout as its really a nitro track with long back straight but has alot of twisties on the front. Do 3Racing do a front oneway? Thanks in advance.
bullfrog_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 06:55 AM   #637
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Spool scrubs off speed through corners, which is critical to 540 as the motor has no torque.

Even in stock in most cases you would be better off using a one-way though. The spool is easier to drive but if you are good enough then a one-way should be faster in stock.

Once you move up from stock the spool really starts to become most effective.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 12:19 AM   #638
Tech Initiate
 
bullfrog_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Spool scrubs off speed through corners, which is critical to 540 as the motor has no torque.

Even in stock in most cases you would be better off using a one-way though. The spool is easier to drive but if you are good enough then a one-way should be faster in stock.

Once you move up from stock the spool really starts to become most effective.
About the Oneway, I see you can use a HB front oneway or 3Racing Center oneway, am pretty confused about what the difference is?

Great too see lots of helpful advise!

Cheers Guys!!
__________________
Team Associated 12R 5.1 5.5T :: Team Magic G4S - OS 12TZ :: Mugen MBX5T - OS VB V Spec
bullfrog_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 04:48 PM   #639
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

There is a HB Centre One-way as well.
With the one-way you still have options which you can run at the front of the car. Ive never used a centre one-way and i've been told they are a pain as they get gritty easily and need constant cleaning.

When they get gritty the car the drive then becomes inconsistent.
Apparently using a centre one-way and a front one-way together is the most efficient drive but **SHRUG**?!?!?!?!?!?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 09:51 PM   #640
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,630
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Does HPI or anyone else make aluminum "C" hubs for the cyclone "S?"
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 12:02 AM   #641
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

HPI/HB dont but there are a few manufacturers around.

3 racing make them and i think Jet also make them (Pro 4 C Hubs are the same).
In my opinion though you are better sticking with the carbon graphite C hubs.
Note that the Cyclone S C-Hubs are different and they are ridiculously brittle

Aluminium C Hubs tend to bend and then this tweaks the car without you being able to work out what is wrong.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 05:29 AM   #642
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Can someone plz post up there setup sheet for stock ashphalt?

Cheers
Adrian
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 09:00 PM   #643
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hmm i havent seen any setup sheets for the Cyclone S floating around.

But you probably want to set it up pretty similar to how all the other people setup the full cyclones.

I changed over the pivot blocks on mine but am suspect as to whether this caused my chasis to snap. Otherwise i would probably run a 2.5 degree block on the rear (assuming that is brushed stock on not brushless stock).
You need to raise the pivot block to as the plastic ones seem to have spacers built into them. On my S with a CF main chassis i raised the pivot blocks 1.5mm to match the plastic FR RF blocks.

Probably use the top mounting holes on the shock towers.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )

Last edited by mangoman; 11-20-2007 at 09:16 PM.
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 10:19 PM   #644
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 71
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

hi,
newbie here, 1 question pls, what is the best gear setup (48p) with 23t stock motor for cyclone S, (using rubber tyre)

thanks
limau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:07 AM   #645
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by limau View Post
hi,
newbie here, 1 question pls, what is the best gear setup (48p) with 23t stock motor for cyclone S, (using rubber tyre)

thanks
I have no idea, you need to ask at your track the best rollout or final drive ratio. Gearing is dependant on many factors such as track size surface, type of motor and driving style (to name a few). For instance two different trinity 27T stock motors have a gearing difference of about 3 pinion teeth to get maximal peformance

Once you find out the rollout or final drive ratio you want to use i can help you out with the pinions and spurs that you may want to get.

Remember to tell people what motor you are using when you ask at the track, if no one will tell you i would go to a different track as it means they are not very friendly people and wont be very fun to race with
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 12:17 PM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 11:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 07:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 07:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 03:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:22 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0