R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2006, 08:32 AM   #196
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,653
Trader Rating: 193 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigair78
I snapped the front diff screw tonight with a few seconds of practice runs. Very strange. I never saw that coming.
For all Cyclone owners. The diff screw is the same crapy one used in the Pro4. They break if you over tighten them. Or on the track when you bump a board. Use an AE diff screw and t-nut. You will not have problems after that.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 10:33 AM   #197
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Default

When you put the pulleys on the shaft, you have to spread them apart a little to adjust the side-to-side slop. If you squeeze all of the gears together tight, the shaft will move - which is probably what you did. I leave my outer pulleys loose when the shaft goes in and then tighten the grub screws last - I do the rear pulley last to adjust the slop.
Corner Weight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 10:54 AM   #198
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Yeah, I have them pretty close because the grub screws are rubbing the insides of the plates. I guess I need smaller grub screws.
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 10:57 AM   #199
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Default

The HPI ones that come in the regular kit don't even stick out of the pulleys. Maybe you can grind down the ones you have.
Corner Weight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:47 AM   #200
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Well the mail rain today and I got my parts from RC-Mushroom. They have a lot of Cyclone S upgrades. I mounted up the new parts and got everything figured out. Here are some pics.
Attached Thumbnails
Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0091.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0093.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0095.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0096.jpg  
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 12:03 PM   #201
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

A few more....
Attached Thumbnails
Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0099.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-dsc_0101.jpg  
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 12:04 PM   #202
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

The car looks great bigair
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 12:07 PM   #203
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Thanks,

I am finally getting it back together. I can't wait to try the spool out tomorrow.


Josh
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 03:12 AM   #204
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Nice bigair, i hope they arent tamiya shocks on the car ;P

PS. where did you get the purple pinion from?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 06:28 AM   #205
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

hey guys my kid ran his cyclone tonite. and the car seemed good but i do find the the dog bones are gonna be a problem. i have already upgraded the car with my stk chassis,topdeck,towers an i will be swapping it over to a normal cyclone this week. but it was a problem trying to get ride height,droop, dual rate with 56 mm foam tires an the steering links were hitting the arm mounts
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:34 AM   #206
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman
Nice bigair, i hope they arent tamiya shocks on the car ;P

PS. where did you get the purple pinion from?
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMG18&P=7

The guys at the hobbytown where I race said these tamiya shocks were pretty good. That is all they had in stock that was and upgrade really. I only paid 35bucks for a brand new set. Have you heard bad things about them?
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 08:37 AM   #207
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DENNIS STORTI
hey guys my kid ran his cyclone tonite. and the car seemed good but i do find the the dog bones are gonna be a problem. i have already upgraded the car with my stk chassis,topdeck,towers an i will be swapping it over to a normal cyclone this week. but it was a problem trying to get ride height,droop, dual rate with 56 mm foam tires an the steering links were hitting the arm mounts
I had trouble trying to adjust the ride height with the stock shocks. The problem I saw was that some of the shocks were binding on the inside. After hitting a wall my steering links were rubbing a little also. But my ball cup was a little tweaked.
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 05:10 PM   #208
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default Race day

Well I raced my Cyclone S today. I was having trouble with the new pulleys loosing grub screws at first. Got that fixed and it still didn't feel right. I tried different springs and that made it better. Then I broke a C hub. That is the third one since I got it. I hit the wall but not that hard. Is this something I should replace with alluminum? When I broke it I lost my dogbone. So the cyclone was done for the day. I pulled out my backup car to run the mains.


Can someone tell me what part numbers I need for cvd's? Includeing the shafts also. I am running a spool in the front. I think you have to have different output drives for the diffs.

Thanks.
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 01:52 AM   #209
Tech Apprentice
 
howard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Africa
Posts: 57
Default Cyclone S

I currently run 2 Pro4's, and am looking to get the Cyclone S. As I have a lot of spares for the Pro4 I would like to know what parts are interchangeable with the Cyclone S? Are for example the universal driveshafts and shocks compatible?
__________________
I live with FEAR everyday, and sometimes she lets me go RACING!
howard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 06:16 AM   #210
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I currently run 2 Pro4's, and am looking to get the Cyclone S. As I have a lot of spares for the Pro4 I would like to know what parts are interchangeable with the Cyclone S? Are for example the universal driveshafts and shocks compatible?
Well I'm not sure about the universal driveshafts... but I think they will work. Others parts that work are most front and rear end parts like C-Hubs, knuckles, shocks, pivot blocks, and bumper. I'm sure there are a few more but those come to mind.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 12:17 PM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 11:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 07:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 07:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 03:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0