R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2006, 08:08 PM   #106
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,695
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawtonlosi
We are running 98's 64pitch at Enid.
How is does the car handle? Running rubber tire stock?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 08:55 PM   #107
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawtonlosi
We are running 98's 64pitch at Enid.

How did you get a 98t 64p spur to work. I could not get the 100t 64p that I had from my 12th scale to barely touch teeth. What gearing do you run for a stock motor like the CO27 or the Epic X- stock?
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:03 PM   #108
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

We run 19t only at enid. I am running around a 6.2 on a KD based 19t. I was around that in stock at the BTH in memphis. That was a c027 based motor.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:06 PM   #109
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
How is does the car handle? Running rubber tire stock?
I have surikarn, I was just helping out my bud spur wise. The surikarn is awesome on asphalt. Enid is a 120x50ish concrete indoor track and its close there. Im probably not the best to ask about there cause I have been a little off there no matter what car ive drove lol. I ever get the monkey off my back there im gonna be dangerous.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:10 PM   #110
Tech Regular
 
BeetleBailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Harrah Oklahoma
Posts: 343
Default

Thanks Billy. I just hope to get a litlle more help with a new car. It also helps that you and David are running the same basic car.LOL I just can't wait to get it. Looks like I might be building saturday when we get there. So any help will be appreciated.
BeetleBailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:44 PM   #111
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Between the 3 of us it should be a snap.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:52 PM   #112
Tech Regular
 
BeetleBailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Harrah Oklahoma
Posts: 343
Default

I guess it will mean a few more holes in the passed around body.LMAO
BeetleBailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:54 PM   #113
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Three questions


1. What is the internal gear ratio?

2. All of my gears are 48p. I know it is possible to use one but what will be my draw back? I have a 72t 48p I could drop in it. I don't have any 64p pinions. I have lots of 48p ones.
3. Someone mentioned in the regular cyclone forums that the new motor plate gave you more options with gears. Is that the same case with the "S"? Do I need the new motor plate?
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 11:12 PM   #114
Tech Master
 
wagonman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,090
Default

All parts that fit the original, Surikarn, and Hara Cyclones will work on the Cyclone S. With one exception, you have to use the Cyclone S shock towers on the S unless you change out the front and rear upper bulkheads for parts from the original, Suri, or Hara kits as the graphite towers don't have provisions for inner camber links.
wagonman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 03:22 AM   #115
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,827
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigair78
Three questions


1. What is the internal gear ratio?

2. All of my gears are 48p. I know it is possible to use one but what will be my draw back? I have a 72t 48p I could drop in it. I don't have any 64p pinions. I have lots of 48p ones.
3. Someone mentioned in the regular cyclone forums that the new motor plate gave you more options with gears. Is that the same case with the "S"? Do I need the new motor plate?
2.4375
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:07 AM   #116
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
All parts that fit the original, Surikarn, and Hara Cyclones will work on the Cyclone S. With one exception, you have to use the Cyclone S shock towers on the S unless you change out the front and rear upper bulkheads for parts from the original, Suri, or Hara kits as the graphite towers don't have provisions for inner camber links.
On the cyclone thread people had talked about getting a "S" and building it up to a cyclone using the new BMI kit. Someone had mentioned that bulkheads were needed also. Is the above statement the reason why?

I have a XXX-S now which is ok but would like to upgrade the car... plus I want to set up my XXX-S for a dirt oval track. So I'm thinking about doing the upgrade route of the Cyclone S. I don't care that much if it will cost a little more cause I can do it over time as I get to be a better driver and can't justify shelling out $400+ all at once. Also isn't some of the parts on the Cyclone basically bling anyway and wouldn't need to be upgraded? I guess upgrading the "S" makes sense to me... just wondering what anyone else thinks?

Thanks,

Paul
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:31 AM   #117
Tech Master
 
wagonman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,090
Default

Yes to upgrade to graphite plate shocktowers requires upgrading the upper bulkheads to the aluminum Cyclone pieces.
wagonman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:51 AM   #118
Tech Elite
 
nf_ekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Posts: 4,631
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

So...... anyone run the "S" on asphalt yet, and if so how is it? Just wondering since I see some talk about the car but not much feedback on how well it works.
__________________
Up the Irons \m/

Powered by Hotwings, Rolling Rock, and the urge to race toy cars...
nf_ekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:55 AM   #119
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeetleBailey
I guess it will mean a few more holes in the passed around body.LMAO
I have painted bodies at the track before
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:41 AM   #120
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

Picked up mine at the weekend and got it built. There will be a proper review for the magazine by the end of the month, but until then, heres my 2 pence.

1. The build is fairly easy. No stripped screws, easy to assemble. No need to clean the mouldings (much, only the plastic bits, not the plastic/nylon bits). 95% of people will be able to buid it.

2. The manual can be a lot better. A few spelling mistakes, and a sprue number wrong is fine, but theres not a single word on chassis setup, or a handling guide. Not good for the learner racer. Also, no mention on the different settings on the diff belt tensioner positions too.

Anyone know what spec/compound the kit tyres are?
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 11:17 AM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 10:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 06:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 06:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 02:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net