R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2007, 09:58 PM   #646
tc4
Tech Addict
 
tc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, i was just wondering if all the parts from the cyclone fit on the cyclone S? Also can you get aluminium or steel centre shaft pulleys? Instead of the plastic ones.

Thanks
__________________
-Corally RDX PHI
-Johnson 540!
tc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 01:03 AM   #647
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,606
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4 View Post
Hi guys, i was just wondering if all the parts from the cyclone fit on the cyclone S? Also can you get aluminium or steel centre shaft pulleys? Instead of the plastic ones.

Thanks
All cyclone parts are interchangable with the cyclone S. So yes you can get the alloy center shaft pullies.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*AWESOMATIX * R1 WURKS * PLAIGE BEARINGS*
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 03:40 AM   #648
tc4
Tech Addict
 
tc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for that mate. Also what is the internal ratio of the S? What spur and pinion should i use to get around 5.3?

Cheers
__________________
-Corally RDX PHI
-Johnson 540!
tc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #649
Tech Initiate
 
bullfrog_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc4 View Post
Thanks for that mate. Also what is the internal ratio of the S? What spur and pinion should i use to get around 5.3?

Cheers
Internal Ratio is 2.4375, not sure what you mean by 5.3 but this place has some cool ways to work various things out. Hope this helps.

http://www.gearchart.com/index.cfm?f...n=chart.create
__________________
Team Associated 12R 5.1 5.5T :: Team Magic G4S - OS 12TZ :: Mugen MBX5T - OS VB V Spec
bullfrog_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 10:27 PM   #650
Tech Adept
 
FARBES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SACRAMENTO, CA
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to FARBES
Default wanna run a stock class racer

My RC:

This is Cyclone S! in coming event, a good upgrade would be to get parts of the pro 5/6cell packs battery, high end-motor and some alumum parts for my sweet Cyclone 'S' (MOD SPEC).
__________________
1/10 TC scale: JRX-R (X2) & Hot Bodies Cyclone S. Hi-End TX: 3PKS w/2.4GHz FASST.

Last edited by FARBES; 01-09-2008 at 10:39 PM.
FARBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:46 AM   #651
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,669
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

It looks good. The optional springs and sway bars will help.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 05:02 PM   #652
Tech Adept
 
FARBES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SACRAMENTO, CA
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to FARBES
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD View Post
It looks good. The optional springs and sway bars will help.
MD, thank you! I JUST wondering if universal part of any ae, serpert, corally, losi's SWAY BARS can fit on Cyclone S? Because HPI PRO4's sway bars wont fit on Cyclone s.



See the aluminium purple shocks and nuts from HPI PRO4 that I put parts on cyclone s.
__________________
1/10 TC scale: JRX-R (X2) & Hot Bodies Cyclone S. Hi-End TX: 3PKS w/2.4GHz FASST.
FARBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 09:55 PM   #653
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,669
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Some of the parts are from the Pro 4. The "C" hubs and steering knuckles are pro 4 parts among others. I don't know if Losi sway bars will fit, but I doubt it. Sway bars are not too expensive. I don't know if you're considering running any of the HPI/HB Challenge Series. If you are they have a box stock and rtr class for the Cyclone "S" and Sprint 2. You may want to take a look at all the classes. If you run the box stock class, options are not allowed except for tires and bodies.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:51 AM   #654
Tech Adept
 
FARBES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SACRAMENTO, CA
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to FARBES
Default


I bought the small cut-off wheels from walmart, about 15 bucks.


I removed rear bumper and cut tail off. It prevent from break or crack if my rc car's rear bumper hit on curb/ wall so hard or bump to hit car's rear bumper on pavement/ street so hardly.

I hope this solve issues.
__________________
1/10 TC scale: JRX-R (X2) & Hot Bodies Cyclone S. Hi-End TX: 3PKS w/2.4GHz FASST.
FARBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:00 AM   #655
Tech Adept
 
FARBES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SACRAMENTO, CA
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to FARBES
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD View Post
Some of the parts are from the Pro 4. The "C" hubs and steering knuckles are pro 4 parts among others. I don't know if Losi sway bars will fit, but I doubt it. Sway bars are not too expensive. I don't know if you're considering running any of the HPI/HB Challenge Series. If you are they have a box stock and rtr class for the Cyclone "S" and Sprint 2. You may want to take a look at all the classes. If you run the box stock class, options are not allowed except for tires and bodies.
MD, In events, I would throw me into stock class racer. I actually live in Nor*Cal ( Sacramento ). I found the track at roseville, Ca nearly Sacramento about 13 miles from my home.

I will look the sway bars online for my cyclone 'S'. but I notice in USA, the Cyclone hop up parts is hard find right now. I hope to find the sway bars and hop ups somewhere in USA.
__________________
1/10 TC scale: JRX-R (X2) & Hot Bodies Cyclone S. Hi-End TX: 3PKS w/2.4GHz FASST.
FARBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:16 PM   #656
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,669
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Farbes - One way I've used to find parts is to simply Google the part number. You usually have to use the manufacturer prefix like HPI or HB before the number. Tower carries some Hot Bodies and HPI hop ups, also Stormer hobbies. I have the sway bars, but I don't remember if I got them from Tower or Stormer or some place else. That's what happens when you're a senior citizen. One of the easiest ways is to call your local hobby shop and see if they can order it. Just give them the part number. Sway bars are not too expensive. Good luck. I like that Dremel attachment. When I bought my Cyclone "S" used, the bumper had been broken off and a corner of the chassis with it.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:21 PM   #657
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Anyone uses this on carpet with rubber tires? How does it perform? Wanted to get one for the HPI challenge and to run on asphalt over the summer. Thought I might use it the rest of the carpet season if it does OK.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:01 PM   #658
Tech Addict
 
pole_position's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 523
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Guys,

Have anyone tried to use a Tamiya front one-way on Cyclone S? Do they actually fit as they just seem to be almost the same?

Thanks!
pole_position is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:59 PM   #659
MD
Tech Elite
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,669
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

or8ital - I've some practices with Tale-Offs on carpet that I would consider to be medium to high traction and it hooks up well.
MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 01:13 AM   #660
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pole_position View Post
Guys,

Have anyone tried to use a Tamiya front one-way on Cyclone S? Do they actually fit as they just seem to be almost the same?

Thanks!
If you are trying to skimp dollars and not buy a genuine oneway pole_position note do not even try to run the one way unless you upgrade the centre pulley.
The plastic pulleys will strip on the first meet (unless you are running something really soft like a silvercan 540 motor).
Upgrading the pulley you will also need to change over the centre shaft.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 11:17 AM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 10:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 06:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 06:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 02:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net