R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2007, 10:47 PM   #496
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Does anyone make aluminium center pullys for the S? I just want direct replacements.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:01 AM   #497
Tech Rookie
 
TcEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to TcEcho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Does anyone make aluminium center pullys for the S? I just want direct replacements.
You can upgrade to the regular Cyclone pulleys but you have to upgrade the layshaft as well. It will also require you to upgrade the spur gear holder also.
TcEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 09:49 AM   #498
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

Selling my Cyclone, link: http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...30#post3150430
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:18 AM   #499
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TcEcho
You can upgrade to the regular Cyclone pulleys but you have to upgrade the layshaft as well. It will also require you to upgrade the spur gear holder also.
I know that. To upgrade is around $45. I would think a set of direct pullys from maybe 3R would be around $10 each.

Anyone?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:56 AM   #500
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

3R pullys have both a grub screw fixing for the upgraded layshaft, and a pin fixing for the stock layshaft.
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 11:08 AM   #501
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,150
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I know that. To upgrade is around $45. I would think a set of direct pullys from maybe 3R would be around $10 each.

Anyone?
3R lightweight , but short life
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 05:15 PM   #502
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

did anyone find the springs that came with the kit were too short? I went and purchased HPI springs that were a little longer and they fit perfectly with the droop set to 6mm all the way around and the shocks set to outer hole (4 front) (5 rear) on all shock towers.

I'm looking for after market aluminium diff cups, I checked out rcmart and they didnt have them.

Cheers
Adrian
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:50 AM   #503
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Do you mean these 3racing aluminium diffs?

http://www.rcstation.com/product_inf...oducts_id=4911

I havent tried them but from experience the 3racing aluminium is quite soft.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 10:56 PM   #504
Tech Addict
 
turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I want to get a set of springs with different hardness' so I can have a play with my setup, but I'm not sure what to get. Should I buy genuine Hot Bodies ones by getting each set individually (part no 66961, 66962 ect)? Or is there another brand where I can but a pack which includes 3 or 4 sets with different hardness of springs which will fit my car?
turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 08:23 PM   #505
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

This is what I use

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXAZU0&P=7
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:34 AM   #506
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The associated springs have a slightly smaller internal diameter. I found on the Pro 4 that they would bind on the bottom at the spring retainers.

Dont know if this effects them or not or if this is a problem with the Cyclone S, i only got them cause i was looking to try extra hard springs above the loadings that the HPI ones were.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 03:46 PM   #507
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,135
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

I have upgradede to a regular cyclone and have a new in boxcyclone s with 3R and HB OPTIONS and hb chassis set to. go to page 6 in for sale section cyclone s with tons of options.
Attached Thumbnails
Tub Cyclone `S`-picture-337.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-pict0181.jpg   Tub Cyclone `S`-pict0182.jpg  
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 07:40 AM   #508
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

hi guys

what should i purchase for the car to give it more grunt, apart from a faster motor and bigger batteries.

I bought the 3racing stabilizers as well, just need to know the length of the tie rods please. I've got them at about 9mm.

Cheers
Adrian
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........

Last edited by vazzo; 04-15-2007 at 09:03 PM.
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 08:35 PM   #509
Tech Elite
 
Taffyjnr5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: QLD
Posts: 2,016
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Cyclone S

Hi,
I have just bought one of these are they ok what hop ups will I need to race stock class. Thanks


Taffyjnr5
Taffyjnr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 03:58 PM   #510
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

You dont really need anything except to replace the C hubs with proper Carbon Graphite ones like on the real cyclone or pro 4. It will be pretty competitive.

If you are serious about blinging it out a little i would probably go for universals instead of dogbones. Maybe upgrade the decks to Carbon Fibre, which will lighten the car a lot and then think about playing with a one-way or spool (although spool will probably be slower in stock). If you go with a one way though you need to upgrade a few parts like you should get v2 universals and also upgrade the centre pulley system to the full cyclone level.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 11:17 AM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 10:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 06:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 06:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 02:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net