R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #136
Tech Fanatic
 
rayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Catch me if you can!
Posts: 741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbipro
Will a orion 4800 lipo fit? Not the new one with the carbon sticker, but the square box looking lipo.
It fits but you have to remove the thick foam on one of the side preferably the outer side. The battery will shift a little front and back so you need to space it out with thin foams.
rayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:32 PM   #137
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

I raced my cyclone S today. I did well in practice. The car was doing well.

Then as we started qualifing I started to have trouble. I made it through the first qualifier. The second qualifier I hit the wall pretty hard and broke the castor blocks on block sides. Maybe it was two wall hits!! Prior to that I knocked the turnbuckles loose causing the dogbones to fall out.

Somewhere in the mist of all this I managed to strip out one of the center pulleys. The car was smooth until I started hitting stuff. Fun day though. I should have practiced more.

How tight should the belt be?
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:36 PM   #138
Tech Regular
 
moot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: nsw
Posts: 352
Default

those centre pulleys are getting a name for stripping out. i've done about 6 of them.if you have broken the caster blocks,check that the upright/shock tower hasnt cracked.i have done a few of those too. the car seems to be very quick and smooth for a budget car,put they cant take a hit
moot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:38 PM   #139
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

I am ordering the one that comes on the other cyclone kit. Is it stronger?
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:41 PM   #140
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Yup, it is aluminum.

Maybe try the P-dub foam bumper on the car. You can use the pro4 one on the CF cars so I it should work on the S as well.

How was the build of the car? I have a bud that gets his Friday and we are gonna build it for him to race Saturday, just wondering if there is anything you have found we should check.

Are the kit tires belted?
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:48 PM   #141
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

lawtonlosi, I posted a question in the standard cyclone forum you could probably help me out with if you get a chance. As far as the build goes it was simple to me. Nothing major at all. You could almost do it without instructions honestly. I think if you have some better turnbuckles and cups I'd throw them on. I was racing down in Memphis today and they kept popping and bending on me. Be careful with the antenna hole too. I snapped mine trying to get the tube in. I'm not sure if the tires are belted or not. They seem to have very soft inserts that lets the tires balloon to much. Oh and like I mentioned above the pulley strips pretty easy.
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:49 PM   #142
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

The kit tires are slicks with a foam insert like the ones that come with HPI's street tires. After a few runs on the kit tires I noticed that the foam would bunch up to one side. You would be better off buyimg RP36's or CS27's.
The build is easy and fast. Take note on the rear suspension hinge pin mount that goes over the belt. I foung out my belt has been rubbing it at high speeds. I checked and double checked to see if I got it wrong but I did not.
I do love the way theis car handles on corners.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:53 PM   #143
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

bigair78 -

Do you run with the MSRA? If so I ran my cyclone there in August at the BTH. Car ran great. We ran RP36 Premounts. I will do some checking on the drive shaft question. Im sure they have to have a cvd set that comes in a pair. I will probably let Bailey use my spare pro4 turnbuckles if he has any problems.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 08:56 PM   #144
Tech Regular
 
moot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: nsw
Posts: 352
Default

here is a section of a post taken from another forum:

In order to fix this onto the layshaft though, you will need to get the same layshaft as the higher end Cyclones, which also means you will need to get a new spur gear adapter (also aluminium) in order to do the modification. What you will need is:

1 x HB70743 (Direct Layshaft)
1 x HB70711 (Spur Gear Hub)
2 x HB70725 (16T Direct Pulley)

I would also recommend getting the Spur Gear Support Plate (Carbon) which will help keep your spur gear running true. The part number for that one is HB70733.

That should resolve the belt pulley issues as its the same as what is run on the Original Cyclone, as well as the Surikarn and Hara Edition Cyclones
moot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 10:29 PM   #145
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The 3racing website (www.3racing.com.hk) says that they have an aluminium centre pulley coming out. I hope its soon

Lots of other bling coming too, im eyeing off the aluminium spur gear adapater as well.

Are you sure its the plastic stripping or is it a case of the pulley moving out of position? Im going to see if i can shim it out a bit or maybe put a bit of glue on it (but not keen on that).
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 10:33 PM   #146
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigair78
Anyone having any trouble with the steering throw.


How tight should the belt be? The factory settings seemed to tight and made alot of noise.
I loosed the rear belt a bit by turning the mounting ring around the diff so the notch was facing backwards. After a few runs the rear belt loosened up so i moved them back to face forwards.

With the steering throw check that its not binding at the centre post where the servo saver is. Disconnect it from the servo saver and check that its moving smoothly. Also i found that mounting it on the top hole of the servo horn was making the steering bang hard up against one side of the bulkheads. Ive dialed out the end point on one side of my controller as i dont think this can be a good thing for the servo or the handling.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:54 AM   #147
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

Yeah, I run with MSRA. I was at beat the heat for a few runs. Had some problems and called it a day. I sat beside Pooky with Ralph C. I was the one that didn't get there until about 4. My first practice run was my first qualifier. So things didn't turn out great for me. It was only my third race ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawtonlosi
bigair78 -

Do you run with the MSRA? If so I ran my cyclone there in August at the BTH. Car ran great. We ran RP36 Premounts. I will do some checking on the drive shaft question. Im sure they have to have a cvd set that comes in a pair. I will probably let Bailey use my spare pro4 turnbuckles if he has any problems.
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 05:24 PM   #148
Tech Adept
 
bigair78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dyersburg, TN
Posts: 185
Default

I am having trouble finding a place with all of this in stock.

Anyone have any idea?


Quote:
Originally Posted by moot
here is a section of a post taken from another forum:

In order to fix this onto the layshaft though, you will need to get the same layshaft as the higher end Cyclones, which also means you will need to get a new spur gear adapter (also aluminium) in order to do the modification. What you will need is:

1 x HB70743 (Direct Layshaft)
1 x HB70711 (Spur Gear Hub)
2 x HB70725 (16T Direct Pulley)

I would also recommend getting the Spur Gear Support Plate (Carbon) which will help keep your spur gear running true. The part number for that one is HB70733.

That should resolve the belt pulley issues as its the same as what is run on the Original Cyclone, as well as the Surikarn and Hara Edition Cyclones
bigair78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 06:27 PM   #149
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlinville IL
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigair78
I am having trouble finding a place with all of this in stock.

Anyone have any idea?
Try Speedtechrc.com
I think they have everything in stock.
dway100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 12:57 AM   #150
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: australia
Posts: 295
Default

is hot bodies a japanese brand?
myk505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 11:17 AM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 10:13 AM
2 x HB Cyclone WCE, cyclone parts & other electric items NickM Australia For Sale/Trade 8 04-19-2008 06:28 PM
Cyclone/Cyclone S front and rear belts vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 0 02-28-2008 06:26 PM
FS: 3Racing Sway bar sets for Cyclone/Cyclone S vazzo Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-07-2008 02:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:16 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net