R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2008, 01:16 AM   #1546
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 418
Default

My setup for a tecnical med-high grip carpet track:

Motor: LRP 13,5 Erasor "Stock Spec" (Has a sintered Rotor) with 6cells

One way,
Chamber 1,5 F+R
Castor 4
Ground clearance : 5mm Front, 5,5mm Rear.
Droop, 6mm front, 5mm rear.
No Suspension arms (Rollcenter)-spacer
Block combo: Front D-D, Rear A-E (2 toe in)
The upper arm mount on the bulkhead i used the inner hole F+R.
Damper positions: F hole 2, R hole 3.
Medium swaybar F+R.
I also use 3 center posts for carpet.

Dampers:
50 oil (Tamiya Green) F+R
Tam. White F
Tam. Blue R
No O-Rings or Rebound foams
I also build the dampers without rebound

The rest shimms and positions are al like in the manual.

Tyres: Vtec 27R with JB "blue,Yellow,blue" foam inserts.
Body: HB Mazda6.

These are my favorits for Carpet Racing

Greetz Blueman
__________________
_______________________________________________________________________
TT01, F104, TRF415MSXXMRE07, TB Evo5 Exoten, TB Evo6, TRF417v7, TRF 418........
Blueman Austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:16 PM   #1547
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys...I appreciate the input on setup. I'm going to experiment with the rear toe and the roll-centre and see what seems to work best.

I have my first series race next weekend so I'll see how everything works!

Cheers,
Mike
__________________
Mike
Hyper_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 02:56 AM   #1548
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

For those who may be interested, Tamiya will be releasing a spool that is designed to be a direct fit into the both EVO5 & EVO5 MS!
The part number is 54125.

Last edited by rctouringracer; 11-03-2008 at 12:44 PM.
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:10 PM   #1549
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FINLAND, EUROPE
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer View Post
For those how may be interested, Tamiya will be releasing a spool that is designed to be a direct fit into the both EVO5 & EVO5 MS!
The part number is 54125.
Good news...

A TB-03 Spool from 3Racing should also be compatible... ...I am running Tamiya's Aluminium TB-03 Differential in my Evo5 as the original outdrives worn out - the measurements are equal.

Tommi.
TommyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:25 AM   #1550
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dordon , England
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer View Post
For those who may be interested, Tamiya will be releasing a spool that is designed to be a direct fit into the both EVO5 & EVO5 MS!
The part number is 54125.

When ? I have an EVO V sitting around unused just waiting for a spool.
weekendracer_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:00 AM   #1551
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

Wish I knew, seems as though with the economy slowing to a crawl so has the release of new tamiya parts....
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 03:34 PM   #1552
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys, seriously need your help. I have asked on the TB-03 thread, but not had any help as yet. Seriously struggling with torque steer coming out of left hand corners.

Coudl you guys share a setup, 10.5 or 19t, pref carpet base, thanks!!
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:19 PM   #1553
Tech Master
 
neil4wd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,016
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Hi all! Could I trouble anyone for EVO5 MS settings for an indoor asphalt track? I'm currently running mine using the manual's settings with only the following changes...
  • front/rear camber (-1.5deg)
  • rear toe in (1deg)
  • front toe out (1deg)
  • wheelbase shortened by moving the front lower suspension arm back by 1mm

...everything else as mentioned is based on the manual.

Other details...
  • motor: HPI S40 23T
  • tires: Sorex 36/soft inserts
  • body: Tamiya Legacy
  • ride height: 5mm

With this setup I'm getting a "push" powering out of corners.

I know I can "cure" this by changing a host of things like droop, camber, springs, damper location etc. but I'm not sure where to start and a tried and tested setup would help a lot to point me in the right direction.

Many thanks for any help.
__________________
Look ma! I sold all my RC stuffs. :lol: Now I bought NEW ones!! :lol: :lol: And here come the credit card bills. :(
neil4wd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 10:12 AM   #1554
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

Man I can't really help you, I race 13.5bl. I suggest you try checking your droop and the balance from left to right on the car.... I know the vehicles is more than likely new, but you may want to clean out all the bearings and relube them. I don't own a TB03 presently but I would check to see if the motor mount flexes in the chassis.
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 11:16 AM   #1555
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

everything is free and running, I am sure there is no flex in the motor either, driving me nuts, I want to run the car, but the racing is close where we are, and I can't carry a poor car at all, Shaft drive is soooo appealing!!
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 02:24 PM   #1556
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

The may not be able to handle a motor as torquey as a 19t motor, maybe you should consider moving over to a 13.5bl motor, I've been told the brushless motors work better in shaft cars?!? Something about the way the censored bl motors deliver there power & the way shaft drive cars lay down the power. Maybe someone can explain that better so everyone can have a better understanding. I had to turn down the initial power delivery on my speed control to get my car to accelerate smoothly, that eliminated all torque steer & my car still out accelerates all the belt cars I race against.
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 02:58 PM   #1557
Tech Addict
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendracer_uk View Post
When ? I have an EVO V sitting around unused just waiting for a spool.
The spool that Tamiya is bringing out for the TB-03 should also fit in the Evo 5 MS. But when Tamiya will release it..... dunno. BUT... .I just saw a 3 racing spool for the tb-03, so this one should also fit in the evo 5 MS. Check http://rcmarket.com.hk/product_info....8p30p5d6e3g7c2 Pretty cheap..... know it's not blue.... But you can drive! So bring on the Evo 5s en evo 5 MS....
__________________
My RCTech trader feedback: http://www.rctech.net/forum/trader-feedback/146331-rogiers-feedback-thread.html
Rogier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 10:48 PM   #1558
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dordon , England
Posts: 387
Default

Cheers buddy

I will give that spool a go in the EVO V and if it does not fit right im getting myself a TB-03
weekendracer_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 04:00 AM   #1559
Tech Addict
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendracer_uk View Post
Cheers buddy

I will give that spool a go in the EVO V and if it does not fit right im getting myself a TB-03
If you tried it, let us know! Not having a spool available for the Evo 5 MS is the main reason I didn't buy one yet.
__________________
My RCTech trader feedback: http://www.rctech.net/forum/trader-feedback/146331-rogiers-feedback-thread.html
Rogier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 06:44 AM   #1560
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dordon , England
Posts: 387
Default

Will find out before to long as i have just gone and ordered the TB-03 spool from 3racing.
weekendracer_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 05:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 08:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 11:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 08:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0