R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2006, 05:24 AM   #1
Tech Regular
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278
Default Novak ESC with deformed power cap

Hey guys,

I have just received my GT7 from Novak. as it is factory remanufactured unit, it does not have any box. Through the plastic cover, i can see that the power cap is now deformed, perhaps during shipping. My question is, is the power cap ok? It's a hassle to replace it cause the wire is soldered inside the ESC and not outside the ESC.
azmio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 05:44 AM   #2
Tech Master
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152

You may want to sent a email to novak to ask some questions. Charlie would be more then happy to help you out.

Or if you're brave enough,you can open up the ESC to desolder the cap by yourself or ask someone more expirence to help you.

You can still run the ESC without the cap.But your ESC will run hottoer without it.

But be warn,both will vooid your warranty.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 05:49 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to MIKE VALENTINE Send a message via Yahoo to MIKE VALENTINE

azmio you don't need to open the case, or unsolder the wires from the board. Just cut the shrink tube on the wires near the power cap, and unsolder at that point, and replace the power cap. I wouldn't run the speedo without it, esp in mod.
MIKE VALENTINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 05:51 AM   #4
Tech Regular
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278

errr I can do a lot of soldering job outside ESC. Inside the ESC, it requires different skill to do things right. If the cap is not functioning, I'm thinking about cutting the wire off and connect it to aftermarket power cap.

Gosh, I wonder when will i get something right from Novak. Until this day, i have sent back 2 SS Brushless set, 1 GTB set and one GT7. Can anyone suggest any other manufacturer that do it right the first time you open up the box. I had enough and I want to switch camp here.

as for runningg the ESC without a cap, I prefer not cause I noticed the noise was greater and i need to cut the motor more often.
azmio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:19 AM   #5
Tech Champion
tc3team's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151

Im very happy with Tekins equipment. I have a charger which ive owned for at least 5 years and its still working fine to this day.

Tekins latest ESCs dont need power caps,just plug it in and race
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 04:37 AM
Novak N-Power power supply, original box, like new condition!! Scottrik R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-28-2007 04:04 PM
Novak N-Power 14Volt/10AMP DC Power Supply Guo Chean R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 04-23-2007 04:32 PM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 09:53 PM
Tuned pipe deformed, what to do? aaalp Nitro On-Road 25 08-08-2005 02:02 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:30 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0