R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2012, 07:00 PM   #13141
Tech Addict
 
Losiho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynative View Post
Probably been asked and answered a few times. Will the TC6.1 gear diff work in the TC5?

Someone else can confirm this, I'm 99% sure they will not fit. The gap between the bulkheads are much wider on the TC5 compared to the 6 / 6.1.
Losiho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:11 AM   #13142
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Losiho View Post
Someone else can confirm this, I'm 99% sure they will not fit. The gap between the bulkheads are much wider on the TC5 compared to the 6 / 6.1.
How about this ?
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC5-img_0393.jpg  
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:37 AM   #13143
Tech Elite
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Buddy of mine runs 1 in his TC5 as well. Said there was no fit issues.
__________________
MONKEY BUSINESS RACING
Flinging poo at a track near you! Winning hearts and minds everywhere!
www.graphicmonkeydesigns.com
Brooksphotodesign.net
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:23 PM   #13144
Tech Adept
 
nuttynative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

So, I'm guessing that if the gear diff will work. So will the 6.1 spool hub?
nuttynative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 11:47 PM   #13145
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynative View Post
So, I'm guessing that if the gear diff will work. So will the 6.1 spool hub?
The only difference is the distance between the bulkheads. So if you use shims every one way, gear diff, slipper spool, ball diff will fit.

The new TC6.1 spool will not be a pure drop in because the outdrives are mounted seperatly. So there you have to be creative. I would recommend the slipper spool if you are not able to get a TC5 spool (what should be no problem...).
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:56 PM   #13146
Tech Adept
 
nuttynative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I just got a TC5 last week and am trying to find out what all came stock on the car. Specifically the caster blocks and rear hub carriers, are they 0 or 2 degree? The TC5 and TC6.1 have the same rear a-arms so I'm assuming the 6.1 rear hub carriers will work on the TC5, is this correct?
nuttynative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:37 AM   #13147
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is wrong. Only the TC5 and the TC6 have the same suspension parts. The 6.1 got new parts. I am not completly sure if all of them are interchangeable. I know that the C-Hubs are!

The TC5 came with 4* C-Hubs and 0* rear hubs.
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:48 PM   #13148
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Ab
Posts: 1,076
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
How about this ?
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...5-img_0393.jpg

Looking at your picture I see you put the TC6 gear diff in backwards. Did you change the belts position on the spur gear and flip the front diff to.
What's the reasoning?

I notice the gear diff moves from side to side when in the car on the bench.
maybe shim it up.

Thanks
__________________
Jeff Cohen

www.rcgears.net, www.carcar.ca, www.trukz.ca
Thanks to my Sponsor: Shred-A-Can Metal Recyclers LTD
www.shredacan.com
chongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:01 AM   #13149
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego /Orange County
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Glad to see guys running the TC5. I have a damn near brand new car that I have ran maybe 3 times since it was new and it has sat for the last 3 years. I know the the Sphere TC spec is not legal so it's out but what else should I do to the car other than lipo cups and a gear diff to make it run a little better ?
DOTHOPPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:39 PM   #13150
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Ab
Posts: 1,076
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOTHOPPER View Post
Glad to see guys running the TC5. I have a damn near brand new car that I have ran maybe 3 times since it was new and it has sat for the last 3 years. I know the the Sphere TC spec is not legal so it's out but what else should I do to the car other than lipo cups and a gear diff to make it run a little better ?
First off what class are you running?
Lots of good setups throughout this thread and on http://www.teamassociated.com/cars_a...anuals_setups/
Lipo cups? I just use the AE tray and tape in my battery.
__________________
Jeff Cohen

www.rcgears.net, www.carcar.ca, www.trukz.ca
Thanks to my Sponsor: Shred-A-Can Metal Recyclers LTD
www.shredacan.com
chongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:00 PM   #13151
Tech Regular
 
Gundevil-81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boaz
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I don't even use the tray, just tape
__________________
One Lug Racing
Remember a compeditive racer gives you 2 corners before peeling you, but a courtious racer takes the time to help pick up all the pieces to a Tamiya puzzle off the track so racing can resume
Gundevil-81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:35 AM   #13152
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego /Orange County
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chongo View Post
First off what class are you running?
Lots of good setups throughout this thread and on http://www.teamassociated.com/cars_a...anuals_setups/
Lipo cups? I just use the AE tray and tape in my battery.
Will be just 17.5t stock intermediate will be carpet/asphalt/parking lot.
DOTHOPPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:27 AM   #13153
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey
For me i put the option front spool and a yokomo bd5 gear diff which drops into the tc5 with the correct shimming.
I havent tried it just yet but if you want to take the next step you can even put tc6.1 arms all round tc6.1 knuckles c hubs and reab hubs
I also added TRF shocks because i didnt like the standard shocks
Let me know how you guys go
Thanks
__________________
"No matter if you win by a inch or a mile, winnings winning".
AleD123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:26 PM   #13154
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, Ab
Posts: 1,076
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOTHOPPER View Post
Will be just 17.5t stock intermediate will be carpet/asphalt/parking lot.
Try this one it's a carpet setup.
Rc pete is one of the best racers around here and is the go to guy for setup help at our track! He's also an AE team Driver.
I use one of his setups very similar to this one.

Team Associated TC5

I just dropped in a tc6 gear diff and shimmed it up in mine with a slipper spool up front.

If you flip your diffs around it will move the front belt to the right side of the car allowing for more room for electronics. like in mos-Leung's picture above.
__________________
Jeff Cohen

www.rcgears.net, www.carcar.ca, www.trukz.ca
Thanks to my Sponsor: Shred-A-Can Metal Recyclers LTD
www.shredacan.com
chongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:05 AM   #13155
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego /Orange County
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How about the shocks ? have you guys upgraded them ?
DOTHOPPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net