R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2011, 12:27 PM   #12946
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,221
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Just pushing the Lipo to the outside makes the car handle bad, because you dont have the same weight (and inertia) on both sides.
As I wrote three pages before: Just balancing is not enough. Saving weight also is not necessary here because the car was built for Nimh and does not like being light.
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 02:29 PM   #12947
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Valk I thing your battery is a bit too far outside, you could bring it in a little more and still get some balance with weight, the roll must be atrocious with this setup.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 05:30 PM   #12948
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

ill muck around with it some more. took 80 grams off with this setup, not sure how much i can lose with the motor moved in. no more than 20 grams.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 08:20 PM   #12949
Tech Master
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

alright. put the lipo retainer back inboard. still outboard 1/4" from stock location to clear my flipped belts.
had to put 63 grams back on to balance, but i imagine ill have to buy a box of weights and attach them to each lipo i have to get it accurate. so moving the motor position lost 17 grams and some change with the metal i got rid of.

bleh. for all the work though, im sure the bearings i replaced and dif i relubed made a bigger difference lol.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 12:11 AM   #12950
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

The best is to do a whole either at back or front of battery, or both and screw your weights down onto chassis.

No messing then with weights on batteries.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 05:57 AM   #12951
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Valk, again, some cars like weight, particularly if they were originally designed for NiMh batteries. I have a Yokomo drift car that's like that, it simply would not handle properly with LiPo until I made up the weight difference in the battery tray. I run 84g in my B44, we all run 1 to 1.5 oz in the B4, etc. The cars simply handle better with a little added weight. You're working on static balance, but once the car starts rolling there are dynamic changes that take place, and even if the car is "balanced" it may not be happy if too light. Don't be afraid to add weight if it's not handling the way you want.
__________________
Who the ^&@$#()! Is Jason Branham!?
cjtamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 06:59 AM   #12952
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: EP on road & off road
Posts: 19
Default

ya i agree..Overall better quality
proampsmalaysia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 06:35 AM   #12953
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,162
Trader Rating: 166 (100%+)
Default

has anyone used the TOP photon spool in the tc5?
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 06:51 AM   #12954
Tech Adept
 
J SiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brunswick, Vic
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
has anyone used the TOP photon spool in the tc5?
No idea it if fits but I haven't really had a issue with them.

But I would use the steal or alloy out drives and glue them in, then they are a great unit and really light.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia
R.A.B Hobbies
AVID Bearings
J SiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 12:41 PM   #12955
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

yes, there is no issue with AE aluminium spool (with blades), you can also make wet and dry "discs" glued on and probably use pads from the TC6 (not tried personaly)
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 12:50 PM   #12956
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 26,162
Trader Rating: 166 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olly986 View Post
yes, there is no issue with AE aluminium spool (with blades), you can also make wet and dry "discs" glued on and probably use pads from the TC6 (not tried personaly)
I know there is no issue with the ae spool I was trying to use the photon gear diff in the tc5 I believe it should work ,
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:34 PM   #12957
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
I know there is no issue with the ae spool I was trying to use the photon gear diff in the tc5 I believe it should work ,
I read something about Photon gear diff but if I recall it was for TC6 "transplant"

I use Sakura diffs on TC6 with RRR Kyosho outdrive, I guess that if you find outdrives with longer bodies but same internal shaft it is possible to fit one, I wonder if a RRR diff gear would fit in TC5, might look into this as I still have both.
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:18 AM   #12958
Tech Master
 
IndyHobbies.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 1,911
Default

I've been running TC3's for the last two years. I've been wanting to buy a TC6 to get current. However, the price tag is way painful.

Is the TC6 that much better than a TC5? A used TC5 is a much better hit to the ol' hobby stash.

(Yes, i'm sure this has been covered previously in this thread, but I don't want to read 800 pages!)

Thanks for the free advice!

__________________
Airbrushing Projects: www.indyhobbies.com/Airbrushing.html
"If you’re in control, you’re not going fast enough." – Parnelli Jones
USVTA #144

Last edited by IndyHobbies.com; 10-18-2011 at 11:37 AM.
IndyHobbies.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 01:54 PM   #12959
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyHobbies.com View Post
I've been running TC3's for the last two years. I've been wanting to buy a TC6 to get current. However, the price tag is way painful.

Is the TC6 that much better than a TC5? A used TC5 is a much better hit to the ol' hobby stash.

(Yes, i'm sure this has been covered previously in this thread, but I don't want to read 800 pages!)

Thanks for the free advice!


I owned two TC5s before moving over to the TC6. The single word answer to your question is an unqualified "Yes".
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:47 PM   #12960
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

TC5 are not that bad, but it was a car made for Nimh batteries rather than Lipo.

They are still plenty around tracks the world over, and if it is just to play on your local car park, it is a safe, cheap buy, for proper competition racing with all the latest equipment, yes TC6 is a much better balanced car.

They are a few options to make a TC5 better, different chassis like Exotek for exemple, battery position, inner motor mount etc...if you can find a chassis with some of these parts second hand at a cheap price, go for it if the finance cannot get you a TC6, and I know, some people will keep telling you that a TC6 is better than a TC5....if it wasn't it would not exist !
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net