R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2010, 07:50 PM   #12571
Tech Elite
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,160
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I have a used tc5 in the mail and it should be here in a few days. I'm planning on racing it down at my LHS (superior hobbies) and was looking for an asphalt setup and wondered if there was any must have upgrades for the car or anything I need to do to make it raceable?
seth556 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:54 AM   #12572
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Chiming in on the body choice, as well...
I carry only two body types to every race: Mazdaspeed 6 and LTC-R
Speed has a nice balance in low-to-medium traction conditions, whereas the LTC-R is a little on the loose side. Once you get a groove on the track the speed tends to be a little too planted. Then I run to the LTC-R, which is more responsive.
I used to also carry the original Mazda 6 and the Stratus 3.0, but they simply aren't on pace under most conditions.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:49 PM   #12573
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
I'm partial to the LTC-R these days. Protoform Stratus 3.0 feels really slow. Gotta cut down the rear wing a lot. MazdaSpeed 6 felt too loose to me.

LTC-R is a nice compromise of rear down force and good top speed.
speed 6 for rubber carpet. ltc-r for asphalt.
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:26 PM   #12574
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,887
Trader Rating: 15 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to W.E.D.Jim
Default

Some sedan bodies done recently I thought might brighten up this thread.








...Jim
W.E.D.
www.wedjim.com
__________________
www.wedjim.com ...Closed down due to heavy work load I couldn't keep up with and maintain my primary job. But I'm still painting, just not with 40+ bodies waiting. :)
www.prolineracing.com
www.HarleyDavidson.com
"Nothing but the best!"
W.E.D.Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:05 AM   #12575
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Wow, sweet looking lids! Would like to have one of those, when I get to where I don't hit the boards hard and often =)
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 06:32 AM   #12576
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 773
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default tc5 shock bladder became bigger then new one ...

Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:04 AM   #12577
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,447
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
if you used a motor spray to clean the shocks out and the bladders that would make them expand.
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:17 AM   #12578
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 773
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
if you used a motor spray to clean the shocks out and the bladders that would make them expand.
I never use it I know this from another car. With my tc5 for almost last 3y I don't made this stupid mistake



Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 11:37 AM   #12579
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default

The AE Bladder do swell up after a little while, I used the hotbodies bladder as well so no problem there !
__________________
Keven Hebert

AE / Reedy / ApexRCproshop
Futaba / BSR tires / Protoform / CR Graphics / Total-RC / ProSpec / Leespeed / 2mm designs
Keven H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 05:38 PM   #12580
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anyone tried to buy anything from Exotek lately? I have been on their site several times lately wanting to buy some of the graphite pieces that you thread tape trough to hold the battery in place but their store seems to be closed! Oh well, I think I may have enough scrap pieces laying around to make my own =)
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 05:54 PM   #12581
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,273
Default

I had the same problem with the AE bladders, I never cleaned mine with motor spray either. I installed Tamiya bladders and never had a problem since. I think it's been two years.




Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
outlandr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 12:41 AM   #12582
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Default Need Help for my TC5R

Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
Shockflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 01:37 AM   #12583
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockflyer View Post
Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
Have you checked you diff/diffs to make sure they are still tight and rotating ok? Under braking it may not be reacting the same on both sides and causing it to veer to the right?
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 03:32 AM   #12584
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockflyer View Post
Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
I've had this happen a few times. Very frustrating to work out.

Here are some things you can try:

Check your front spool and make sure it is still tight. Mine goes through phases where it will start to slip a lot. Usually mid race and then braking gets really interesting.
Check left to right balance of the car using the balancing holes in the chassis.
Check for chassis tweak.
Check that all the suspension components are mounted in the same holes left to right.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 01:06 PM   #12585
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Scoyle and Sponger x

Thank you guys for the help. Now my TC5R is running fine. I do hope to catch up coz we will have our nationals race within 2 weeks.

Shock
Shockflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:41 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net