R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2010, 10:31 PM   #11881
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

can you use a mac to update it too? What one is better the Tekin rs or the rs pro?

Does it come with wires or do you have to do all that oyurself?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 01:36 AM   #11882
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
can you use a mac to update it too? What one is better the Tekin rs or the rs pro?

Does it come with wires or do you have to do all that oyurself?
I don't have Tekin but for 99.9% all software made for update is for windows,
if you have windows xp on your mac I think you will be available to do update.

Or just go to tekin site and search, maybe they made softwate for mac and
apple system.

m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 01:44 AM   #11883
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

ok and if I dont upgrade the ESC I basically am gonna be really slow when I put my 17.5 motor in?
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:04 AM   #11884
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
ok and if I dont upgrade the ESC I basically am gonna be really slow when I put my 17.5 motor in?
LRP are not upgradable upgrade is when you buy new one LRP

If you switch to Tekin or GM (Graupner, upgrade only at manufacturer) you
can do upgrade when you need.

Maybe you can purchase ESC with new software, just ask at store.

:-)

m,.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 04:48 AM   #11885
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_Money View Post
can you use a mac to update it too? What one is better the Tekin rs or the rs pro?

Does it come with wires or do you have to do all that oyurself?

Ok as far as the HotWire being Mac friendly that I'm unsure of? The HotWire is the PC interface needed to make updates and adjustments to the RS/RS Pro. You will be fine with the RS down to an 8.5 turn motor, the RS will run motors down to 5.5 but they won't do it nearly efficiently as the Pro. If you mainly run 17.5 and 13.5 you won't need the Pro the RS will be fine. It does come with wires but you need to solder them to the solder post, this is very easy to do.

You won't regret getting a Tekin RS and the turbo feature will blow your mind, it's got that wow factor for sure. You won't believe the difference.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:14 AM   #11886
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Let's try and keep this on topic of the TC5 please.

There's a massive thread about the Tekin RS and RS Pro already here Tekin RS ESC sensored

Have a read through the last 50 or so pages for the new software and what it can do onroad. It also explains how the new software works on 64 and 32 bit systems but no Mac or Linux support and how to tune it with the new settings.

I have an RS Pro in my TC5r with a Tekin Redline 13.5 and it's so fast with the v203 software I don't even use turbo anymore cos it completely blows my braking points cos the car is accelerating so hard still and my track is low traction. My fdr is 7.25 with a 13.5.

Does anyone else have a problem with the TC5r steering arms where the lower button head screw that attaches the steering arm to the caster block strips often? I'm using the TC5r components so the softer parts.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:16 AM   #11887
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
Does anyone else have a problem with the TC5r steering arms where the lower button head screw that attaches the steering arm to the caster block strips often? I'm using the TC5r components so the softer parts.
Try going with the hard version 31561, they are more durable.
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:45 AM   #11888
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,336
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Any new on new motor mount?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:53 AM   #11889
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Any new on new motor mount?
haha

NEVER!
PinkFloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:15 AM   #11890
Tech Elite
 
revo61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the dirty south
Posts: 2,871
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

If it is still in the package it still has new on it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Any new on new motor mount?
__________________
JQ The Car White Edition/Reds R7E/Reds 2113 pipe
Airtronics MT4/Savox servos
Sidewinder Team Strike V2 30%
USA.JQRACING.COM / WWW.NEMORACINGUSA.COM /WWW.DIALEDHOBBIES.COM /WWW.TALLAHASSEERC.COM
revo61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:11 AM   #11891
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
Let's try and keep this on topic of the TC5 please.

There's a massive thread about the Tekin RS and RS Pro already here Tekin RS ESC sensored

Have a read through the last 50 or so pages for the new software and what it can do onroad. It also explains how the new software works on 64 and 32 bit systems but no Mac or Linux support and how to tune it with the new settings.

I have an RS Pro in my TC5r with a Tekin Redline 13.5 and it's so fast with the v203 software I don't even use turbo anymore cos it completely blows my braking points cos the car is accelerating so hard still and my track is low traction. My fdr is 7.25 with a 13.5.

Does anyone else have a problem with the TC5r steering arms where the lower button head screw that attaches the steering arm to the caster block strips often? I'm using the TC5r components so the softer parts.
Sounds to me like you need a 17.5
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:22 AM   #11892
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trerc View Post
Sounds to me like you need a 17.5
Was contemplating it but at 90 USD a motor and then I gotta pay international shipping and nearly 50% in taxes when it gets here I think I'll just detune my ESC a bit. As much as I like brushless I miss the days of the cheap stock motor.

I'll try the hard steering arms next time I order spares. I just got some more of the soft ones. Last time the bhs came out completely and the car was still driving. It was a bit darty sometimes tho
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:55 AM   #11893
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,050
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i run the hard steering blocks on my car. the screws do seem to hold in better, but i do seem the crack them easyer then the other ones.
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2016, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:11 PM   #11894
Tech Adept
 
rcmarek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
Does anyone else have a problem with the TC5r steering arms where the lower button head screw that attaches the steering arm to the caster block strips often? I'm using the TC5r components so the softer parts.
+1 happened to me just yesterday

Anyone tried to use the Integy steering blocks?
__________________
Marek | SMA | M03 | TC5R | F104
rcmarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:17 PM   #11895
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmarek View Post
+1 happened to me just yesterday

Anyone tried to use the Integy steering blocks?
I know guys that use them and like them. What bumper are you running? usually it's impact that loosens these up over time in which case you just replace the sloppy steering blocks with news ones. This has been an issue with the TC3, TC4 and now the 5 but I will say the beefier screw has seemed to help with the TC5.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0